Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC): FOCUS: Mesoamerican Indigenous Cultures

Subject guide for Chicana and Chicano Studies (CHIC)

Exploring Mesoamerican Indigenous Cultures

Background resources to help you explore Ancient Mexican Cultures

There are a number of steps you can take to make it easier to find information about Ancient Mexican Cultures.Maya scribe records communication

  1. Use our resources to find background material and possible research questions about your culture
  2. Use those same resources to find out alternative names and spellings for your selected culture
  3. Many of the resources listed on this tab contain maps that may be useful for your assignments

Some of these resources are online and some are only available in print.

DO NOT IGNORE THE PRINT ONLY ITEMS. THEY MAY BE THE MOST IMPORTANT SOURCES YOU FIND!!!

Here are some examples of print only resources:

Handbook of Middle American Indians, 1964-76, 16 vols., plus supplements, F1434.H3, 5th floor S. Supplements are newer and have unique call numbers. There is online access to some volumes and supplements.

Bernandino de Sahagun, General History of the Things of New Spain: Florentine Codex, 1950-1982, 12 Books in 13 pts. (vols.), F1219.S13. (Several volumes are currently missing. I am trying to acquire this online.) We also have several other versions of this in Spanish.

Online Reference Resources for Mesoamerican Indigenous Cultures

Aztec sabios discuss maps
Online Reference Resources for Ancient Mexican Cultures
 
These databases contain background materials in the form of full text reference works, some of which we also have in print. In addition, ehraf databases have full text of books and articles on some of the cultures in the hraf, human relations area files collections.

Audiovisual and Image Materials for Mesoamerican Cultures

Databases for the study of Mesoamerican Indigenous Cultures

Use these databases to find records and, in some cases, full text for journal articles, books, and book chapters jaguars reading in bedon the Ancient Cultures of Mesoamerica