Newspaper articles reflect the news of the day. In-depth article on a topic are rare. Often they contain inaccuracies, mistakes and bias, but they give a picture of what is thought to be important by certain segments of society and by those in control of media outlets at the time the article was written. Be careful with your vocabulary choices, how you search will dictate the articles you find. What is missing may be more important than what you find. The previous statements can also be applied to news and information found on the Internet and in social media. Intrigued? Contact Barbara Miller, the CRC Librarian for more information.
See also Historic Newspaper collections under the Primary Sources tab in this guide. In historical newspapers, the terms used may not be ones you are used to seeing and you might actually find them offensive.
This collection includes over 500 California newspapers. The Orange County Register is included in this collection. The collection supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty such as Business and Economics, Environmental Sciences, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, STEM and more... Full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Specific ethnic group publications included are: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic/Latino/Chicano; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; Native People. Languages: English and Spanish. Also contains a timeline of events. Global Newsstream contains the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format. Provides full-text (HTML text, not PDF) of the 'Los Angeles Times' newspaper. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and other means. Provides a Topic Guide of subjects, and has a Search Alert service. No images (charts, graphs, photos) are included. Provides full-text (HTML text, not PDF) of the 'New York Times' newspaper. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and other means. Provides a Topic Guide of subjects, and has a Search Alert service. Access to the Orange County Register via the California Custom News Collection (Newsbank). This link directs you to the text formate version: Access to WSJ.com will end 8/31/24. For alternative access, the Wall Street Journal is available via ProQuest.
