Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC): Multidisciplinary Databases for Chicana & Chicano Studies

Contains newspaper, magazine, journal, and book articles, books, government documents, pamphlets, and dissertations about Mexican-Americans, Chicanos, and Latinos. Subject areas covered: art, bilingual education, culture, economics, education, film, folklore, health, history, labor, law, literature, mental health, music, politics, psychology, public policy, religion, sociology, women's studies, and more. Languages: English; some Spanish.

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 & 2, is an archive of publications covering U.S. Chicano/Latino/Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Based on materials from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, the collection includes complete text of hundreds of rare books by Chicano/Latino/Hispanic Americans, over 60,000 historical articles from newspapers, magazines and journals, 250,000 + pages of personal and organizational manuscripts including hundreds of political and religious pamphlets, broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, telegrams, speeches, transcripts, photographs, and advertisements. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and is indexed and searchable in both Spanish and English.

Includes Childhood Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Psychology, Social Work and Sociology. The annotated bibliography with supporting explanations presents the preeminent research on these subjects. Editors are distinguished scholars in their field and resulting citations are highly recommended.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. From researchers pursuing scientific breakthroughs to academic institutions and government agencies evaluating research, Scopus is the abstract and indexing database of choice.

Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

If you have problems connecting, go to the main Google Scholar page (https://scholar.google.com/) where you will find a link to Settings. Once you click on it, you'll be taken to a page with "Library Links" on the left side. Search for Fullerton or "California State University Fullerton" and once you check the box next to "California State University Fullerton - Pollak Library FindIt!" you'll see the links appear.

Note - if we have it electronically, a link will appear on the right. If we have it in print, you'll have to click on "More" under the article to get the FindIt! link.

A multidisciplinary database covering applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, business and technology.

General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.

Indexes scholarly journal articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics, Latinos and Chicanos in the United States. Topics include Anthropology; Archaeology; Ethnology; Art; Economics and Business; Geography; Government and Politics; International Relations; Literature; Music; Philosophy; and Sociology. Languages: Spanish and Portuguese.

Provides full-text scholarly journal articles in the social sciences and humanities for Latin American Studies, the Caribbean Basin, and Hispanics, Latinos and Chicanos in the United States. Subject areas include Anthropology, Business and Economics, History, Literature, Political Science and Sociology. Offers key titles indexed HAPI Online. Languages: Spanish, English and Portuguese.

Fuente Acadmica Plus is the most complete database of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals. Hundreds of quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain cover all major subject areas, including agriculture, economics, history, law, literature, psychology and sociology.

Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History, Sixteenth through Twentieth Century contains over 1.3 million pages of primary source material providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations. In addition to keyword searching, users can access the collection by Person, Topic, Event, Named Work, and Country. The historical collections provide original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more and support researchers, postgraduates, and undergraduates with interests in regional studies, history, political science, anthropology, sociology, economics, and international relations.