LibGuides: Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC): Focus: Art

Databases for the study of Chicanx Art

Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Contains newspaper, magazine, journal, and book articles, books, government documents, pamphlets, and dissertations about Mexican-Americans, Chicanos, and Latinos. Subject areas covered: art, bilingual education, culture, economics, education, film, folklore, health, history, labor, law, literature, mental health, music, politics, psychology, public policy, religion, sociology, women's studies, and more. Languages: English; some Spanish.
Art Full Text - 1984-present This link opens in a new window
Available via EBSCO. Art-related topics found in journals and magazine articles, many full text. Coverage includes English and foreign language journals. Can search for specific art reproductions.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Art resources from journals, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews covering all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Art Index Retrospective - 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Art Index is available via EBSCO with historical coverage of the literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Includes resources from 600+ journals. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is a resource for scholarly literature on western art. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years. ProQuest uses the Getty Research Institutes own thesaurus and authority files. The bibliography provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, global art since 1945, visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields. Contains scholarship from at least 500 core journals, and includes detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. Includes international coverage, with at least 60% of records from non-English-language publications (principally German, French, Italian and Spanish).

ICAA--International Center for the Arts in the Americas
"The International Center for the Arts of the Americas (ICAA) is the research arm of the Latin American art department. Its mission is to collect, exhibit, research, and educate about the diverse artistic production of Latin American and Latinx communities, including artists from Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and artists of Latin American descent living and working in the United States." -MFA-Houston, Museum of Fine Arts-Houston

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Grove Art Online, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Provides artist biographies, thematic timelines, over 40,000 image links. Limited to 25 simultaneous CSU system-wide users.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Specific ethnic group publications included are: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic/Latino/Chicano; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; Native People. Languages: English and Spanish. Also contains a timeline of events.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

If you have problems connecting, go to the main Google Scholar page (https://scholar.google.com/) where you will find a link to Settings. Once you click on it, you'll be taken to a page with "Library Links" on the left side. Search for Fullerton or "California State University Fullerton" and once you check the box next to "California State University Fullerton - Pollak Library FindIt!" you'll see the links appear.

Note - if we have it electronically, a link will appear on the right. If we have it in print, you'll have to click on "More" under the article to get the FindIt! link.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. From researchers pursuing scientific breakthroughs to academic institutions and government agencies evaluating research, Scopus is the abstract and indexing database of choice.

Using OneSearch to find Articles, Books, and other Materials

Using OneSearch is easy but it can be a little tricky for doing research in many multidisciplinary subject areas including this one. Here are some tips to help you use it.

Use the ADVANCED SEARCH option found to the left of the OneSearch search box on the library homepage.
At the first opportunity, get in the habit of signing in. Signing in lets you see more options and allows you to request books, articles and other materials that the Pollak Library does not own from other CSUs and other libraries.* There are certain databases that will only be searched once you are logged in.**
OneSearch emphasizes full text. Abstract databases and Index databases -- SOME IMPORTANT DATABASES ARE IN THESE CATEGORIES -- can be excluded from your search results until you expand your results. Here is how to do this: Once you have done a search, look for a sentence below the search box that says: Didn't find what you are looking for? Click here to include Results from Other Libraries (This may seem misleading as you are actually getting more results from our library as well as those from other libraries. We may actually have access to the full-text in another database we own or we can request it from another library.)
Examine the other possible options in Refine my Results column to narrow your search.
If you are still having trouble come to the researchdesk or contact me at bmiller@fullerton.edu

OneSearch from the Pollak Library Homepage
Start Searching OneSearch from the Pollak Library Homepage

*Including books that are checked out here at CSUF!

**Please note that not all of our databases are actually being searched by OneSearch. We are adding them as quickly as possible. If you go to the databases tab on the Pollak Library homepage and browse by Database Name, you can see which databases are being searched. They have the OneSearch symbol

The Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

Copies are available at the Main Campus Library Research Center and for limited checkout at Circulation.

Additional Resources

Chicago Notes Bibliography Citation Guide - Pollak Library
This overview of Chicago Manual of Style (Notes Bibliography Format) 17th edition gives basic citation format examples and refers to additional resources.
Chicago Author Date Citation Guide - Pollak LIbrary
This overview of Chicago Manual of Style (Author Date Format) 17th edition gives basic citation format examples and refers to additional resources.

Other Helpful Resources:

Chicago Style Online Quick Guide Notes Bibliography: Official Chicago Manual of Style website with common citation examples in Notes-Bibliography Style.

Chicago Style Online Quick Guide Author Date: Official Chicago Manual of Style website with common citation examples in Author-Date Style.

Chicago Style Q & A: Helps clarify confusing questions on a variety of topics.

Turabian Style: Official online quick guide.

Bibliographies, Footnotes and Endnotes

Purdue OWL: Easy-to-use citation resource. Provides rules and examples.

Purdue OWL Chicago Guide: Covers basics of in-text citation, reference list rules and more.

Citing Artificial Intelligence

How do you recommend citing content developed or generated by artificial intelligence?: This Q&A from the Chicago Manual of Style Online offers guidance on how to cite generative AI in Chicago style.

Citing Social Media

Purdue OWL: Citing Web Sources: This guide from Purdue OWL covers how to cite various social media posts and comments.

Additional Citation Examples

University of Maryland Chicago Style Library Guide: Contains a lot of useful examples.

OWL Chicago Style Notes Bibliography Sample Paper
Notes Bibliography (NB) sample paper for the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition. From Purdue University.
OWL Chicago Style Author/Date Sample Paper
Author Date sample paper for the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition. From Purdue University.

Primary Source Materials for Chicanx Art

Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Database available via ARTstor. Digital images of works of art with accompanying information including size and ownership. Includes over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, and the humanities. Technical requirements http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/requirements.shtml NOTE 1: Pop-up blocking software must be disabled. NOTE 2: Requires Flash 6 or higher.
AP Images This link opens in a new window
Available via EBSCO. An image database of millions of photographs and graphics from AP, the Associated Press. Photographs: color and B&W, dating from 1826 to the present. Graphics: maps, diagrams, drawings etc. Also includes audio files (sound clips) dating from the 1920s. The database is strongest since 1997, but there is a good deal of older, historical material. The database is updated every minute, daily, so that photos of current events are instantly available. All photos/graphics/audio is copyrighted material owned by the Associated Press, but available to subscribers for educational use.

Calisphere
"Calisphere is a free website that offers educators, students, and the public access to more than 200,000 primary sources such as photographs, documents, newspapers, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, and other cultural artifacts. These materials reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history."
more...less...
Calisphere, a service of the UC Libraries, is a part of the Digital Library of California

Archives

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Indexes almost a million descriptions of archival collections held by more than 2,500 libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. The detailed, archival collection descriptions have been written by archivists. Subject strengths include history, humanities, art, social sciences, and genealogy. Search results include the title of the collection, holding institution, brief description, and a link to an extended description.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History, Sixteenth through Twentieth Century contains over 1.3 million pages of primary source material providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations. In addition to keyword searching, users can access the collection by Person, Topic, Event, Named Work, and Country. The historical collections provide original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more and support researchers, postgraduates, and undergraduates with interests in regional studies, history, political science, anthropology, sociology, economics, and international relations.
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture Archive offers many titles previously unavailable in digital form, allowing libraries to replace torn and worn print issues with pristine digital facsimiles. Via the powerful ProQuest interface, users can search the full text, browse and retrieve articles and advertisements, and view illustrations, photographs and technical plans in detail and in context, to gain new insights and inspiration.
Available through June 30, 2024
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series 1 and 2
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 & 2, is an archive of publications covering U.S. Chicano/Latino/Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Based on materials from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, the collection includes complete text of hundreds of rare books by Chicano/Latino/Hispanic Americans, over 60,000 historical articles from newspapers, magazines and journals, 250,000 + pages of personal and organizational manuscripts including hundreds of political and religious pamphlets, broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, telegrams, speeches, transcripts, photographs, and advertisements. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and is indexed and searchable in both Spanish and English.
Artforum Archive This link opens in a new window
The backfile of Artforum (later Artforum International), the leading magazine for coverage of international contemporary art, from its launch in 1962 to 2020. Spanning six decades of reporting on art in all media, Artforum offers features, reviews, and interviews relating to artists, exhibitions, publications, and other art world events / trends.
Available through June 30, 2024

OAC- Online Archive of California
"The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses."

Online Repositories

LACLI--Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian Studies
"Explore a repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies. ... LACLI is an essential tool to find websites that provide access to a great variety of resources such as audiovisual materials, books, data, ephemera, government documents, oral histories, periodicals, reference works, visual materials, web archives and more!"
Mexican American Art Since 1848 (MAAS1848)
This portal "...virtually unites digital files of art and related documents from libraries, archives, and museums. Currently, the open-source portal compiles digital collections from national and regional aggregators to enhance the discovery of the aesthetic, geographic, and historical range of Mexican American visual art and related materials." It " ... directs users to contributing institutions. .... Some [materials] are in the public domain, while others items, usually works of art, are under rights restrictions but are publicly viewable for education and personal research. For individual rights information about an item, check the “Access Rights” or “Description” field of the item." -- quoted from website

Museums & Organizations

Cheech Marin Center for Chicano Art and Culture
"Joining the RAM [Riverside Art Museum] family on June 18, 2022 is The Cheech Marin Center for Chicano Art & Culture. A public-private partnership between RAM, the City of Riverside, and comedian Cheech Marin—one of the world’s foremost collectors of Chicano art—The Cheech will be the 'center of Chicano art, not only for painting, but for sculpture, photography, and video arts.'"
Museum of Latin American Art in Long Beach
"MOLAA is the only museum in the United States dedicated to modern and contemporary Latin American and Latino art."
LibroMobile: Arts Cooperative and Bookstore & Crear Studio Gallery
"Established in 2016 in Santa Ana, LMAC is a community-based collaboration between a mobile bookstore and cultural center practices. It builds on anti-gentrification movement culture and cultivates diversity through literature and the arts by prioritizing Black, Indigenous, people of color and integrating free reading and writing programs, visual exhibits, and year-round creative workshops in Santa Ana, California and its surrounding areas." -Mission Statement
StoryMapJS: Mapping Santa Ana
A Crear Studio collaboration between Roger Eyes R. and Sarah Rafael Garcia started in 2021, this map counters tourist marketing and includes 10 murals done by Chicanx Artists in Santa Ana.
Chicano Park Museum and Cultural Center-- San Diego
Long before the Museum opened in 2022 in a physical location, the Museum worked to preserve the outdoor Chicano Park Murals depicting the history and struggles of Chicano Families in Logan Heights Barrio of San Diego, which were painted on the bridge supports for the Coronado Bay Bridge starting in 1970 to prevent the construction of a Highway Patrol Substation.
Self Help Graphics & Art -- Los Angeles
"Self Help Graphics & Art fosters the creation and advancement of new art works by Chicana/o and Latinx artists through experimental and innovative printmaking techniques and other visual art forms. We are an organization rooted in community; and since 1973, have been at the intersection of arts and social justice, providing a home that fosters the creativity and development of local artists. We establish international collaborations and partnerships nation-wide and create world-wide cultural exchanges." -- Website
FAMSI-Foundation for the Advancement of MesoAmerican Studies
Unfortunately this site has not been switched to https, so it is not deemed safe. The content appears to be ok, but has not been updated since 2007
Ancient Americas at LACMA
This website is continuation of FAMSI. It is a separate website supported by LACMA. It also has not bee updated to the more secure https. The content appears to be ok.

Additional Information about citing AI Tools in Chicago Style

Chicago Style Recommendations for citing LLMs
Recommendations for citing AI directly from the Chicago Style website
Citing ChatGPT and other LLMs
Guide from the University of Minnesota regarding the citation of LLMs.

Pollak Library Makerspace

Pollak Library Makerspace
Pollak Library Research Guide to it's Makerspace

Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC): Focus: Art

Art Focus: Table of Contents: