LibGuides: Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC): FOCUS: Immigration

Discipline-specific Databases for Immigration Issues

Your topic will dictate which of these discipline-specific databases would be good to use to find books, articles and book chapters on your topic. Select databases that are in the subject area of your topic. If there is not a database on this list that would include your topic, take a look at the subject guides in that subject area. If the full text is not available in the database you are using, use the "Find it" button to see if it we own a print copy or have access to the full text in another database.

America: History and Life
This EBSCO database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. CLIO Notes provides chronologies and hundreds of brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.
CINAHL Complete
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, is a comprehensive research tool for nursing, allied health, public health, biomedicine, and related fields. It provides indexing for articles from 5,400 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. This database provides full text access to more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminology database containing international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers. Topics included are crime trends, crime prevention, deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, sentencing and more.
Education Full-Text
International coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks covering the field of Education. Includes journals not covered in ERIC. Abstracts available from 1983, full-text articles available from 1996. SFX enabled; can e-mail, print, or download citations.
ERIC
Abstracts (and in some cases, full-text) articles, reports, book reviews and government documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to the present
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Useful in the fields of history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, education, music & art, law. It indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. For the history of the U.S. and Canada, see 'America: History and Life' database.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
Need to find scholarly articles, book reviews, book chapters, and conference papers on various linguistics and language related subjects? Try LLBA to access articles from over 1,500 journals, as well as summaries of books, book chapters and dissertations!
PAIS International
Public Affairs Information Service: Political Science, Criminal Justice, and Public Administration and includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, and publications of international agencies.
APA PsycINFO
Available via EBSCO. The American Psychological Associations (APA) notable database for locating abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This resource is the largest of its kind dedicated to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and it also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Material is drawn from over 2,000 periodicals in more than 20 languages.
PubMed
A comprehensive index to biomedical and life sciences journals with citations to over 18 million articles back to 1948. Note: To limit to full-text articles, search PUBMED CENTRAL.
Social Sciences Full Text
Searches a wide range of social science issues and topics found in scholarly journals.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological database that leads to journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings and more.
Trends and Policy: U.S. Immigration
ProQuest Trends & Policy: U.S. Immigration is a great place to explore paper topics and start your research if you are doing your substantial writing or a law review article on immigration. You can review topics and get up to speed very quickly on how an issue has developed over time and significant legal developments. You can also find data to cite in your paper. However, this resource does not include case law. Use this tool to identify a topic and get background information before diving into law review articles and case law.
Women's Studies International
Indexes women's studies and feminist-related journals, newspapers, newsletters, books and reports in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Primary Source Resources for Immigration

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series 1 and 2
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 & 2, is an archive of publications covering U.S. Chicano/Latino/Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Based on materials from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston, the collection includes complete text of hundreds of rare books by Chicano/Latino/Hispanic Americans, over 60,000 historical articles from newspapers, magazines and journals, 250,000 + pages of personal and organizational manuscripts including hundreds of political and religious pamphlets, broadsides, editorials, essays, letters, telegrams, speeches, transcripts, photographs, and advertisements. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%) and is indexed and searchable in both Spanish and English.
Border and Migration Studies Online
Border and Migration Studies Online provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.
National Farm Worker Ministry
This collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, minutes; included are materials relating to the farm workers, poverty programs, Public Law 78, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union and the Delano Grape Strike.

New Resources-Check these out!

Mapping Deportations: Unmasking the History of Racism in U.S. Immigration Enforcement
A collaboration between the Center for Immigration Law and Policy (CILP) at the UCLA School of Law and Million Dollar Hood in partnership with the National Immigration Project.
From the Website: "Mapping deportations invites you to see the history of U.S. immigration enforcement not as a series of disconnected events, but as a pattern. For more than two centuries, U.S. immigration enforcement has favored Europeans and their descendants while targeting non-white migrants for exclusion, removal, and punishment. Although U.S. immigration law and policy have shifted over time, the nation’s immigration enforcement regime has consistently produced this result."
National Immigration Project: Lawyers for the Movement
From the Website: "Since its founding in 1971, the National Immigration Project has worked to defend and extend the rights of all noncitizens in the United States, regardless of immigration status. For more than 50 years, the Project has developed cutting edge strategies including advocacy and litigation to respond to unlawful immigration enforcement, government overreach, and efforts to erode immigrant rights."

Reports and Statistics -- Federal Governmental Organizations for immigration issues

Links to government organizations that provide research and statistics on immigration and immigrants.

Most Federal departments and agencies will have reports and statistics in their areas of coverage. Below are some examples from agencies in the Federal Government most likely to be helpful to those doing research on Chicanos and Latinos. You can also try searching Search.USA.gov, the U.S. Government Official Search engine, or the Federal Digital System (FDsys) from the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) for more Federal reports and statistics.

Census Information
Population, housing, economic, and geographic statistics, the latest economic indicators, and some historical census data back to 1790. Includes American Factfinder, American Community Survey, State & County QuickFacts, and the 2002 Economic Census. Access to data sets from the 1990 and 2000 censuses. Full-text subject reports.

Data.gov
"The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government."
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is a component of the Office of Justice Programs in the U.S. Department of Justice. Its mission "... (t)o collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded".
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant."
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
This website is full of reports and statistical data about diseases and the health of the nation. Scroll down to find links CDC-Data & Statistics, Life Stages and Populations, and CDC-Publications.
Department of Homeland Security (DHS)-Immigration Data & Statistics
At DHS, the Office of Immigration Statistics serves a decision-support function by producing annual core reports on immigrants by legal status and by conducting quantitative studies and research on immigration.
Consideration of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services site for Deferred Action Information. Includes a link to data on the number of applications received and processed.
HealthData.gov
A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS). The site pulls together data sets from HHS agencies such as the National Health Institutes. Searches can be filtered by subject, sub agency, date, geographic subdivision, etc.

Reports & Statistics -- NGOs

Examples of non-governmental organizations and databases that provide research and statistics on Chicanos and Latinos:

Pew Hispanic Center
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. The Center does not take positions on policy issues. It is a project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan "fact tank" in Washington, DC that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It is funded by The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Tomás Rivera Policy Institute (TRPI)
The Tomás Rivera Policy Institute (TRPI), a freestanding, nonprofit, policy research organization, helps shape public policy by providing elected officials and community leaders with non-partisan research. The Institute has published 200 research reports and policy briefs addressing a wide range of topics – from immigration and education to technology, media and employment.
Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts." --Taken from their website
Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC)
[Their] policy research program is as diverse and dynamic as California itself. Focused on the forces shaping California’s future, our projects cut across a wide range of policy concerns, such as immigration, education, governance, the environment, and economic development.
---From PPIC FAQ

Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC): FOCUS: Immigration

Missing Governmental Data

Discipline-specific Databases for Immigration Issues

Primary Source Resources for Immigration

New Resources-Check these out!

Reports and Statistics -- Federal Governmental Organizations for immigration issues

Reports & Statistics -- NGOs

Web Accessibility