Now part of MUSIC ONLINE. Music research of all the world's peoples with regional overviews explaining musical heritage, traditions, themes and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Also contains illustrations and sound recordings.
This music encyclopedia includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Dictionary of Opera, New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, Grove Dictionary of American Music, Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. It is recommended to students of all levels as a beginning point for research.
Now part of MUSIC ONLINE. An international database of traditional and historical music recordings from across the world which can be searched by country, cultural group, artist, instrument, genre, and more. Highlights of the collection are in folk, jazz, blues, bluegrass, and old time country music as well as musical traditions from Africa, the Americas, and Asia. For current music see the complementary database, 'Contemporary World Music.' It is possible to create individual playlists or course folders for entire classes.
Available through July 31, 2025
Available through June 30, 2025
This collection of streaming video provides access to hundreds of classic and contemporary documentaries useful in the study of anthropology, ethnography and social psychology. The videos are global in scope, with footage from every continent and material relevant to hundreds of cultures. In addition to published content, Ethnographic Video online includes unpublished footage from archives or the personal collections of anthropologists and others.
Using OneSearch is easy but it can be a little tricky for doing research in many multidisciplinary subject areas including this one. Here are some tips to help you use it.
Use the ADVANCED SEARCH option found to the left of the OneSearch search box on the library homepage.
At the first opportunity, get in the habit of signing in. Signing in lets you see more options and allows you to request books, articles and other materials that the Pollak Library does not own from other CSUs and other libraries.* There are certain databases that will only be searched once you are logged in.**
OneSearch emphasizes full text. Abstract databases and Index databases -- SOME IMPORTANT DATABASES ARE IN THESE CATEGORIES -- can be excluded from your search results until you expand your results. Here is how to do this: Once you have done a search, look for a sentence below the search box that says: Didn't find what you are looking for? Click here to include Results from Other Libraries (This may seem misleading as you are actually getting more results from our library as well as those from other libraries. We may actually have access to the full-text in another database we own or we can request it from another library.)
Examine the other possible options in Refine my Results column to narrow your search.
If you are still having trouble come to the researchdesk or contact me at bmiller@fullerton.edu
*Including books that are checked out here at CSUF!
**Please note that not all of our databases are actually being searched by OneSearch. We are adding them as quickly as possible. If you go to the databases tab on the Pollak Library homepage and browse by Database Name, you can see which databases are being searched. They have the OneSearch symbol
Formerly known as International Index of Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP), the Music Periodicals Database is an international music resource which indexes articles from journals and magazine. This database includes all musical genres from classical to popular. The Music Periodicals Database is the music periodicals section within this database. It can be searched separately or in a combined search with the Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly known as the International Index to Performing Arts Full Text), the performing arts periodical section of the database.
A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.