LibGuides: Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC): Focus: Health

Discipline-specific Databases for Chicana and Chicano Studies Health Topics

Your topic will dictate which of these discipline-specific databases would be good to use to find books, articles and book chapters on your topic. Select databases that are in the subject area of your topic. If there is not a database on this list that would include your topic, take a look at the subject guides in that subject area. If the full text is not available in the database you are using, use the "Find it" button to see if it we own a print copy or have access to the full text in another database.

CINAHL Complete
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature, is a comprehensive research tool for nursing, allied health, public health, biomedicine, and related fields. It provides indexing for articles from 5,400 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health. This database provides full text access to more than 1,300 journals dating back to 1937.
APA PsycINFO
Available via EBSCO. The American Psychological Associations (APA) notable database for locating abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This resource is the largest of its kind dedicated to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and it also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Material is drawn from over 2,000 periodicals in more than 20 languages.
PubMed
A comprehensive index to biomedical and life sciences journals with citations to over 18 million articles back to 1948. Note: To limit to full-text articles, search PUBMED CENTRAL.
AgeLine
AgeLine is available via EBSCO and it focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging, presenting the literature of social gerontology and aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy. This database indexes over 600 journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos.
GenderWatch

Need to find full text newspaper, magazine, reports, and journal articles relating to the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, arts, literature, health sciences, political science, sociology and much more? Try GenderWatch!
GreenFile
GreenFILE contains information on global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Some full-text articles included.
Social Sciences Full Text
Searches a wide range of social science issues and topics found in scholarly journals.
Social Services Abstracts
This abstract and indexing database of journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews provides coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas such as social welfare, social policy, and community development. Over 1,300 serials publications from over 40 countries are represented.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological database that leads to journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings and more.
Women's Studies International
Indexes women's studies and feminist-related journals, newspapers, newsletters, books and reports in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
SPORTDiscus Full-Text
This database offers comprehensive indexing of literature pertaining to sports, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, physical fitness and related disciplines. Sport Discus includes over 565,000 records, with citations from over 1,200 periodicals (published 1975-present), books and theses (1949-present), conference reports, and videotapes.
Sports Medicine and Education Index
This kinesiology related database provides access to articles covering to topics of biomechanics, coaching, dance, health, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, sport psychology, and sport medicine.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library brings together research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions, providing independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Systematic Reviews are presented full text with abstract, plain language summary, meta-analysis, and exhaustive literature reviews. The collection of six databases can be searched / browsed individually or simultaneously.

Primary Resources for Chicano Studies Health Topics

DSM-5 5th ed.
The online version of the DSM-5, the world's leading psychiatric reference publication, is an accurate representation of the print version, with all sections conveniently located and hyperlinked on the publication homepage. Features include: access to the complete archives of the DSM; access to the American Psychiatric Association (APA) practice guidelines; and access to abstracts from AJP in Advance (The American Journal of Psychiatry in Advance).
Nursing and Mental Health in Video: A Symptom Media Collection.
A collection of over 240 videos for nurses working in a variety of settings and at different stages of their professional development designed to help nurses deal effectively with mental health issues that may be present in their patients.

Reports and Statistics -- Federal Governmental Agencies for Health Topics

Links to government organizations that provide research and statistics on Chicanos and Latinos.

Most Federal departments and agencies will have reports and statistics in their areas of coverage. Below are some examples from agencies in the Federal Government most likely to be helpful to those doing health-related research on Chicanos and Latinos. You can also try searching Search.USA.gov, the U.S. Government Official Search engine, or the Federal Digital System (FDsys) from the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) for more Federal reports and statistics.

Census Information
Population, housing, economic, and geographic statistics, the latest economic indicators, and some historical census data back to 1790. Includes American Factfinder, American Community Survey, State & County QuickFacts, and the 2002 Economic Census. Access to data sets from the 1990 and 2000 censuses. Full-text subject reports.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
This website is full of reports and statistical data about diseases and the health of the nation. Scroll down to find links CDC-Data & Statistics, Life Stages and Populations, and CDC-Publications.
Data.gov
"The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government."
Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics
"The specific goals of the Forum are to improve both the quality and use of data on the aging population by:
•widening access to information on the aging population through periodic publications and other means;
•promoting communication among data producers, researchers, and public policymakers;
•coordinating the development and use of statistical databases among federal agencies;
•identifying information gaps and data inconsistencies"
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
"The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. .... The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides the Nation with a summary of national indicators of child well-being and monitors changes in these indicators over time."
HealthData.gov
A federal government website managed by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS). The site pulls together data sets from HHS agencies such as the National Health Institutes. Searches can be filtered by subject, sub agency, date, geographic subdivision, etc.
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
The mission of NIMHD is to lead scientific research to improve minority health and eliminate health disparities. To accomplish this, NIMHD:

Plans, reviews, coordinates, and evaluates all minority health and health disparities research and activities of the National Institutes of Health
Conducts and supports research in minority health and health disparities
Promotes and supports the training of a diverse research workforce
Translates and disseminates research information
Fosters innovative collaborations and partnerships
Office of Minority Health, Department of Health and Human Services
"The Office of Minority Health (OMH) was created in 1986 and is one of the most significant outcomes of the 1985 Secretary' s Task Force Report on Black and Minority Health. The Office is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities. OMH was reauthorized by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010 (P.L. 111-148)."

Reports and Statistics -- California State Agencies

California Department of Health Care Services: Data & Statistics
Covers data sources, reports, research and analytical studies about the department's programs. See also Health Disparities.
California Department of Public Health: Data
"Data" provides access to public health data and information, such as queries, resources, statistics, surveys, informatics, GIS, and health indicators
County Health Status Profiles: CDPH
"County Health Status Profiles contains county data for selected health indicators as recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and modified by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) in collaboration with the California Conference of Local Health Officers (CCLHO). The County Health Status Profiles report is now available along with individual county data sheets in the links below."

Reports & Statistics -- NGOs

Examples of non-governmental organizations and databases that provide research and statistics on Chicanos and Latinos:

Pew Hispanic Center
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. The Center does not take positions on policy issues. It is a project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan "fact tank" in Washington, DC that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It is funded by The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Tomás Rivera Policy Institute (TRPI)
The Tomás Rivera Policy Institute (TRPI), a freestanding, nonprofit, policy research organization, helps shape public policy by providing elected officials and community leaders with non-partisan research. The Institute has published 200 research reports and policy briefs addressing a wide range of topics – from immigration and education to technology, media and employment.
Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC)
[Their] policy research program is as diverse and dynamic as California itself. Focused on the forces shaping California’s future, our projects cut across a wide range of policy concerns, such as immigration, education, governance, the environment, and economic development.
---From PPIC FAQ
Latino Coalition for a Healthy California
"Founded in 1992 by health care providers, consumers and advocates, the Latino Coalition for a Healthy California - the only statewide organization with a specific emphasis on Latino health - impacts Latino health through enhanced information, policy development and community involvement. Three major functions provide essential focus to the organization's work: Public Policy and Advocacy; Community Education; and Research."
Salud America!:
"The RWJF Research Network to Prevent Obesity Among Latino Children aims to activate and inform the public, advocacy groups and policymakers targeting Latino childhood obesity. The network is a project of the Institute for Health Promotion Research (IHPR) at The UT Health Science Center at San Antonio."

Chicana & Chicano Studies (CHIC): Focus: Health

Missing Governmental Data

Discipline-specific Databases for Chicana and Chicano Studies Health Topics

Primary Resources for Chicano Studies Health Topics

Reports and Statistics -- Federal Governmental Agencies for Health Topics

Reports and Statistics -- California State Agencies

Reports & Statistics -- NGOs

Web Accessibility