LibGuides: University Archives & Special Collections: Willis McNelly Science Fiction Collections

The Willis E. McNelly Science Fiction Collections

Enter the realm of speculative fiction via the Willis McNelly Science Fiction collection—an expansive archive featuring original manuscripts, books, periodicals, memorabilia, and fanzines. Our SF manuscript collections reveal working papers, correspondence, first editions, and critical studies from authors like Frank Herbert and Philip K. Dick. Dive into Star Trek's universe with scripts, fanzines, and memorabilia that illuminate its impact. Explore the early 20th-century pulp magazines capturing science fiction's golden era. Traverse Latinx science fiction literature, unveiling diverse narratives. Encounter horror, fantasy, and paranormal tales within the Shroyer collection. The Science Fiction Writers of America Depository Collection holds more treasures, showcasing works from SFWA members.

This collection's origin stems from Willis McNelly's vision, a CSUF faculty member who founded it. These collections embody science fiction's literary evolution, reflecting its enduring allure and boundless imagination.

The Science Fiction Collection
Delve into the origins of the CSU, Fullerton Science Fiction collection through Willis McNelly's illuminating article. Published in "Very Special Collections: Essays on Library Holdings at California State University, Fullerton" in 1992, this piece offers a captivating insight into the collection's inception and significance.

Willis E. McNelly papers
Inside is a wealth of McNelly's articles, personal papers, novels, anthologies, books, correspondence, and drafts of the "Dune Encyclopedia." Plus, dive into the world of science fiction with recorded lectures by prominent authors and figures.
Willis McNelly interviews on California Revealed
Collection of 96 audio interviews by Dr. Willis McNelly. SF authors include Poul Anderson, Ray Bradbury, Harlan Ellison, Frank Herbert, and Philip K. Dick.

Manuscript collections

Willis E. McNelly Science Fiction collection: Star Trek
A diverse compilation of materials that bring together scripts and production documents from the iconic original television series (1964-1969), alongside fan magazines (fanzines), and an array of collectibles and memorabilia spanning both the television series and motion pictures.
Willis E. McNelly SF coll: Manuscripts
Authors included : Ackerman, Forrest J., Asimov, Isaac, Bell, Eric Temple, Benford, Gregory, Bradbury, Ray (Raymond Douglas), Davidson, Avram, De Vet, Charles V., Dick, Philip K. (Philip Kindred), Gaddis, Vincent H., Gerrold, David, Harrison, Harry, Henderson, Zenna, Hopf, Alice L. (Alice Lightner), Jardine, Jack Owen, Malzberg, Barry N., McNelly, Willis E. (Willis Everett), Poyer, Joe, Richardson, Robert S. (Robert Shirley), Rocklynne, Ross, Saberhagen, Fred,
Spinrad, Norman, Stover, Leon, Upchurch, Boyd, Van Scyoc, Sydney, Wells, Basil, Williams, Robert Moore.

Philip K. Dick

Philip K. Dick Papers
Unlock the world of Philip K. Dick through the captivating Philip K. Dick papers. This collection boasts original manuscripts, working papers, correspondence, first editions, critical studies, and ephemera that provide a unique window into Philip K. Dick's life and the creations that define his legacy.
Philip K. Dick in the OC
English 475: Digital Literary Studies class project of students who met at California State University, Fullerton in Spring, 2014, and became fascinated with PKD's special relationship with our campus.
Interviews with Philip K. Dick
Three separate recordings: an interview with Dr. McNelly, interview with Kandy Smith, and address to a CSUF science fiction class.

Frank Herbert

Frank Herbert Papers
Immerse yourself in the world of Frank Herbert through this extraordinary collection. Discover original manuscripts, working papers, correspondence, first editions, critical studies, and ephemera that offer a profound insight into Frank Herbert's life and the literary treasures housed within this archive.
Frank Herbert Lectures and Interviews
Parts 1-4, 15-16, & 19 are interviews and conversations with Frank Herbert. Parts 5, 6, 20, & 21 are lectures by Frank Herbert. Parts 7 - 14 include Herbert reading aloud with some interaction / discussion with others. Audio files hosted by California Revealed.
Frank Herbert's Dune: a guide for further study
Journey deeper into the Dune universe with our guide—a rich supplement to the 2015 exhibit and programs, "Dune - From Print to Cinema and Beyond." Drawing from CSUF's Frank Herbert papers, this guide unveils the evolution of Dune from its conceptual roots to a bestselling novel and iconic pop culture phenomenon. Explore the intricate art of world-building and character creation, featuring captivating renditions by CSUF's Illustration faculty and students. Uncover Herbert's writing process and scholarly insights through this guide, enhancing your grasp of his literary legacy.

Book & Periodical collections

Frederick and Patricia Shroyer Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Collection
The Frederick and Patricia Shroyer Collection is a captivating assembly of late 19th to 20th century genre fiction spanning 1890 to 1950. This collection also includes thirty-one periodical gems dating from 1897 to 1909, delving into the realms of science fiction, fantasy, and horror.
Latinx Science Fiction Collection
US Latinx Science Fiction is a literary genre that is rapidly gaining recognition for its distinct themes and characteristics. It boldly expands and redefines the boundaries of what science fiction has been and can be. This unique and captivating collection features works by renowned authors such as Sarah Rafael García, Gloria Anzaldua, Ernest Hogan, Cathy Camper, Jaime Hernandez, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Junot Diaz, Sabrina Vourvoulias, and many other trailblazing writers.
Science Fiction Periodicals
Browse our collection of SF journals and pulp magazines—a comprehensive list that opens the door to the world of science fiction.

Fanzines (Zines)

Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature Club, 2015 - 2019
Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature Club publications and fanzines (zines).
Science Fiction Fanzine Sample Collection
The Science Fiction Fanzine Sample Collection, features 82 titles and 116 fanzine issues. These fan-created gems were a platform for fans to celebrate and explore science fiction and other interests. From small fan groups to widespread cultural exchanges, these fanzines connect a community through their shared love for various genres and themes.
Science Fiction Periodical Sample collection
The Science Fiction Periodical Sample Collection holds an impressive array of 90 titles encompassing a total of 132 individual issues. Spanning from 1927 to 1999, these periodicals provide a fascinating glimpse into the evolution of science fiction over the decades.

Paulina June and George Pollak Library
Pollak Library South, Room 352
Email: uasc@fullerton.libanswers.com
Phone: (657) 278-3445

University Archives & Special Collections

Manuscript collections

Philip K. Dick

Frank Herbert

Book & Periodical collections

Fanzines (Zines)

Web Accessibility