University Archives & Special Collections

Visiting the Reading Room

COMMUNITY GUIDELINES

In order to provide you with quality service and to ensure the preservation of the collections we abide by the following:

1. University Archives & Special Collections Upon each visit, researchers are asked to fill out a Registration Form.
2. Staff and researchers refrain from wearing fragrance or cologne.
3. Only loose paper, pencils, laptop computers, cell phones, and research materials are permitted in the reading room.
4. Briefcases, backpacks, coats, and other items must be placed in a locker.
5. Researchers may use one folder, one photo box, or one book at a time.
6. Please maintain the existing order of records in a box or folder.
7. Researchers are required to use nitrile gloves (available in the Reading Room).
8. Please limit conversation to avoid disturbing others.
9. Eating, drinking (including covered beverages) are prohibited.
10. Digital Cameras are permitted in the Reading Room for use in accordance with the Copyright Guidelines.
11. U.S. Copyright Law applies to many of the materials in UA&SC. In addition, reproductions of materials may not be published in any form without written permission for use.
12. When finished with research materials, please leave items in designated area. 

Thank you for helping us to preserve our rare and unique collections

COPYRIGHT GUIDELINES

Pollak Library leads the College campus in the utilization of information resources, preservation of institutional heritage, and serves students, faculty, staff, and community members in their intellectual and spiritual growth. As a part of this mission, the library staff endeavors to model best practices in the use of copyrighted material and to provide library patrons with information to assist them in using copyrighted materials within the spirit and letter of the Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17. U. S. Code. Sections 101-122).

The library is not responsible for the improper or illegal use of any copies of materials from its collections. It is the patron’s responsibility to guard against the infringement of rights that may be held by others and for clearing reproduction rights and copyright restrictions. The library does not claim the copyright for all materials in its collections. Library staff will provide any copyright information available for specific items that it has available to the user if a specific request is made. Pollak Library provides such information to aid patrons in determining the appropriate use of an item, but that determination ultimately rests with the patron.

It is the patron's obligation to determine and satisfy copyright or other use restrictions when publishing or otherwise distributing materials from the library's collections. Patrons are reminded that these materials are provided by Pollak Library for non-profit educational, personal, or scholarly purposes and that transmission or reproduction of protected items beyond that allowed by fair use request the written permission of the copyright holder.