UA&SC and Frank Herbert's papers in the News

The release of the new chapter of Dune by Denis Villeneuve has put the novel and Frank Herbert's papers in our collections in the spotlight this year.

Check out these articles published in Spring 2024:

Explore ‘Dune’ Author Frank Herbert’s Notes at Cal State Fullerton - CSUF News, 2024-03-26

Pollak Library Houses Frank Herbert’s Original Manuscript for ‘Dune’ - CSUF News, 2024-03-28

Digging Through the Frank Herbert Archives & Dune Display at CSUF Library - Fullerton Observer, 2024-07-3

UA&SC Social Media

Follow us on Instagram and Facebook for updates, collections information, and goings on in UA&SC.

The Titans Remember: A COVID-19 Community Archive Exhibit is LIVE.

Curated by our very own Trish Campbell, an exhibit representing a year of collecting remembrances, observances, and experiences of the COVID-19 pandemic is available on the Titans Remember page. We hope you enjoy it and may be even feel inspired to contribute something of your own to the archive.

Volume 48 (2021) of CSUF's The Welebaethan: A Journal of History is now LIVE

It is dedicated to our late colleague, Professor Nancy Fitch (see Editors' Preface). The three student editors, Emanuel Ayala, Luca Azuma, and Matthew Kelly, were an absolutely amazing and dedicated team who continued their work well into the summer. Special thanks, as always, are due to Patrisia Prestinary (Pollak Library) and Natalie Garcia (Lawrence de Graaf Center for Oral and Public History). 

Check out the The Welebaethan - Editions section for articles based on UA&SC's War Memorabilia collection, Rare books, and Sidney Goldman letters.

Patrons of the Library approves naming of science fiction collection for Willis E. McNelly during February 12 meeting!

The Patrons of the Library approved the naming of the science fiction collection after former English faculty Willis E. McNelly on February 12th.  This action recognizes Dr. McNelly’s foresight in collecting an array of important early publications and in envisioning an understanding of science fiction as a significant literary genre.  We believe that the identification of the manuscripts and other documents that Dr. McNelly acquired with his name will enhance the standing of the University Archives &Special Collections in the broader community and facilitate fund-raising for the construction of the UA&SC’s new home.

Visit this link for more information on the Willis E. McNelly Science Fiction Collection and select the WEM Science Fiction collections tab. 

‘Zines to the Future!’ Exhibit Opens Virtually Oct. 29 at Pollak Library

Check out the CSUF News article, Handmade Works of Passion: Zines of the Past, Present and Future, for more information on the upcoming exhibit and programs. The exhibit features several zines from our Science Fiction collections, including early Star Trek zines and the Philip K. Dick Newsletter. Be sure to join us for the programs coming up throughout the Fall:

• 1 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 29 — Panel discussion on “Latinx Science Fiction: Genealogies, Foundations, Futures,” with writers, critics and editors of groundbreaking science fiction. 
• 6 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 3 — Panel discussion and readings on "Future Fictions," presented by CSUF’s African-American Studies Department as part of the Innovative Arts Futures Conference by the Institute for Black Intellectual Innovation.

To see the complete Calendar of Events visit the Zines to the Future! Calendar.

Titans Remember: A COVID-19 Community Archive

May 26, 2020

The Cal State Fullerton COVID-19 Community Archives Project, organized by Pollak Library’s University Archives & Special Collections, was created to establish a community archive that will preserve the story of this extraordinary moment of our history.

We invite members of the Titan family and Orange County community (students, families, administrators, faculty, staff, alumni) to participate in documenting experiences and add to the historic record during the COVID-19 pandemic. We welcome materials that represent individual observations as well as documentation of your community’s experience.

Submissions may include:

• Digital photos or scans;
• Video and audio recordings;
• Letters, emails, and other correspondence;
• Journal and diary entries;
• Social media posts, publicly accessible web pages, and PDFs;
• Creative art such as drawings, paintings, and poetry; and
• Any other digital media that illustrates the effect of the pandemic on your academic, social, family and extracurricular life.

The submissions will then be made available in a digital collection that will be accessible through the University Archives and Special Collections website and we hope will serve as a foundation for student and faculty projects.

Interested in sharing your experiences? Please fill out our submission form to share your stories about being displaced from student housing, working from home, the shift to online learning, social distancing, self-quarantine and more.

Thank you for helping us with this important effort to collectively record the story of this unprecedented time in history. Your contributions are a crucial part of telling the story of the COVID-19 pandemic in our community.

The Virtual Reading Room is now open!

August 24, 2020

University Archives & Special Collections is OPEN for research. In a Zoom meeting setting, you will be greeted by Archives staff to discuss your research needs and inquire about archival collections you are interested in seeing. In most instances we can fulfill research requests electronically. You are also welcome to contact us via email uasc@fullerton.libanswers.com for assistance.

UA&SC is the keeper of rare books, antiquarian maps, and archival and manuscript collections. For more information on our collections, direct links to Finding Aids, and tutorials visit the UA&SC Research Guide.

Virtual Reading Room hours are available Monday - Friday from 9:00 am - 12:00 pm.  Select the link to join a Zoom session to talk to Archives staff about your research needs.