Titans Remember, organized by Pollak Library's University Archives & Special Collections, is a community archive whose intent is preserve our community’s experiences and responses to this historic event. As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to reshape our lives, we aim to continue documenting the expansive economic, environmental, and social sea changes that have swept the world along with the virus.
By using your words, photos, videos, art, music, and/or any medium in your preferred language to contribute a story about your life during covid-19 to this research archive you can help document this historic era. . Your narratives, poems, songs and digital or physical creations are all welcomed. Together we will create a unique repository of lived experience in Orange County that tomorrow’s researchers will be able to consult to learn about one of the most historically significant moments in modern human history. Your submission can remain anonymous.
Here are some suggested prompts to get you thinking about your personal narrative, no matter what form it takes:
Faculty, staff and administrators:
Whether or not you choose to submit your reflections to Titans Remember, creative expression such as writing, can be personally helpful and a good coping mechanism worth trying. Should engaging in the writing exercises bring up personal distress, it is recommended to contact CSUF's Counseling and Psychological Services and schedule a meeting with a mental health counselor.
To contribute to Titans Remember: A COVID-19 Community Archive, please fill out the submission form. You will be asked to upload files through the form.
You can participate in the co-creation of the collection by submitting any or all of the following:
Submissions may be in the form of digital photographs, text files, pdfs, spreadsheets, presentations, audio files, or video files. You may submit materials as .jpg, .pdf, .doc, .exl, .mp4 .wav or as.zip files. Long audio and video files may be submitted as .zip files, at a maximum length of 1 hour. The site cannot capture webpages, however, they can be submitted in .pdf format. Attach documents in the section titled "Please add your files here. You may upload up to ten files at a time". The site is configured for a Google account. If you do not have a Google account, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
We are now accepting physical materials to the archive. Please fill out the online submission form indicating an intent to donate and we will follow-up with you with an appointment day and time. Your contributions will become part of CSUF's Archives and will be available for access by the public.
There is no deadline for submissions. We hope to continue collecting materials for the foreseeable future.
45 CFR 46.102(l)(1) deems activities such as these as not being research and thus not applicable to IRB approval. "For purposes of this part, the following activities are deemed not to be research: (1) Scholarly and journalistic activities (e.g., oral history, journalism, biography, literary criticism, legal research, and historical scholarship), including the collection and use of information, that focus directly on the specific individuals about whom the information is collected."