University Archives & Special Collections

Instruction Sessions & Tours

University Archives and Special Collections (UA&SC) facilitates educational engagement with historical materials and research methodologies in two ways: Primary Source Instruction and Behind-the-Scenes Tours. These sessions are designed to accommodate the academic needs of students, researchers, and scholars across various disciplines. Our Primary Source Instruction program offers direct interaction with original documents and artifacts, promoting critical analysis skills and historical interpretation. Behind-the-Scenes Tours provide insight into our collections as well as archival processes, preservation techniques, and collection management.

Both programs can be tailored to align with specific research interests, curricula, or scholarly pursuits, offering participants a nuanced understanding of archival resources and their role in academic inquiry. These experiences aim to enhance comprehension of historical research methods and archival practices within an academic context.

1. Primary Source Instruction:
Tailored sessions where students engage directly with original documents, rare books, and artifacts. Instructors can select materials relevant to course topics, allowing students to develop critical analysis skills using authentic historical sources. Sessions can focus on specific research methods, document interpretation, or thematic explorations based on curriculum needs.

2. Behind-the-Scenes Tours:
Exclusive access to the closed stacks of archives and special collections. Visitors learn about our collections as well as preservation techniques and the day-to-day operations of maintaining valuable collections. Tours can be customized to highlight specific collection strengths or to focus on particular aspects of archival work that align with group interests.

To arrange a session or learn more, please use the LI Scheduler or reach out to uasc@libanswers.fullerton.com.