LibGuides: University Archives & Special Collections: The Freedom Center of Polemical Literature

The Freedom Center of Polemical Literature

The Freedom Center Collection is a comprehensive archive of materials documenting the diverse political, social, and religious movements of the 20th century. Our repository spans a wide ideological spectrum, from labor and civil rights to environmental activism, LGBTQ+ and animal rights advocacy. It also includes materials related to Christian Nationalism, anti-communist sentiment, anti-semitic propaganda, and anti-immigrant literature, among other topics. Researchers and curious individuals alike can explore a rich array of resources, including campaign materials, journals, videos, and posters. This collection serves as an invaluable resource for those seeking to understand the movements that influenced 20th-century society.

Please note that some materials in this archive contain sensitive content and are preserved for historical and research purposes.

Bernie Sanders 2016 Presidential Campaign Materials
This collection includes homemade and official campaign materials, along with some voting materials and items related to the 2016 Democratic National Convention.
California Democratic Party Convention, 2017
Delegate and attendee materials from the California Democratic Party's 2017 annual convention in Sacramento, California.
Cameron Stewart collection on the Lincoln Brigade in the Spanish Civil War
Collection of research papers on the Abraham Lincoln Brigade created by former faculty Cameron Stewart.
Research Guide for Cameron Stewart collection on the Lincoln Brigade in the Spanish Civil War
Guide on the Cameron Stewart collection on the Lincoln Brigade in the Spanish Civil War as well as online primary sources on the Spanish Civil War.
Democratic National Convention 2016 Collection
The DNC 2016 Collection largely consists of Convention materials held and handled by Sanders and Clinton delegates on the Convention Floor. Materials include protest signage, official DNC rally signs, campaign buttons, and official Delegate items.
Freedom Center Subject Files
A vast and unique collection of political campaign materials, newsletters, newspapers, journals, books, pamphlets, videos, flyers, and posters for the study of 20th Century alternative political, social, and religious movements.
Liberation News Service (Freedom Center Periodical)
The Liberation News Service was founded in 1967 by Marshall Bloom and Raymond Mungo. Two or three times a week, printed packets were sent to hundreds of underground press subscribers, providing news and information on the radical, New Left, anti-war, and counter-culture movements. LNS staff writers and editors also promoted activism in social change, including homosexual rights, third world liberation movements, and feminism. In covering racism, sexism and homophobia issues but also the prison reform movement, the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, South African apartheid, and U.S. interventions in Latin America, LNS definitively contributed to spur new generations of activists. The LNS was most active in the late-1960s and early-1970s and continued to send material to subscribers till it ended operations in 1981.
Peace & Disarmament collection
A collection of over 800 pamphlets, papers, and articles devoted to the control of armed conflict. The holdings are listed alphabetically by author. Bibliographies are located at the end of the folder listings.
The Russell G. Benedict Collection
The Benedict Collection was originally called University of Nevada’s Contemporary Issues Collection and it was founded and curated by Russell G. Benedict. He collected periodicals, clippings, pamphlets, brochures and books focusing on the Civil Rights Movement, organized labor activities anti-Communist groups and extremist groups on either side of the political spectrum who targeted particular racial or religious groups or activities in hate literature and/or violent actions.
United States Presidential Campaign Materials , 2016
This collection highlights a few materials from the post-primary presidential campaigns. Included is Hillary Clinton of the Democratic Party (former secretary of state), Donald Trump of the Republican Party (real estate mogul), Gary Johnson of the Libertarian Party (former Governor of New Mexico), and Jill Stein of the Green Party (activist).

Paulina June and George Pollak Library
Pollak Library South, Room 352
Email: uasc@fullerton.libanswers.com
Phone: (657) 278-3445

University Archives & Special Collections

Web Accessibility