LibGuides: University Archives & Special Collections: Research

Researching Archival Collections

Use the Starting your research page to familiarize yourself with archival terminology, learn search
strategies, watch tutorials on primary sources, and see how to cite archival sources. 

When you're ready to search our collections, go to How to Search OneSearch and ArchivesSpace.

There are links to free primary sources on U.S. History and World History available on the world wide web 
in this section as well as in California and Local History. Links to items in our collections are 
labeled (CSUF).

For more information on collections held in UA&SC, visit the Collections page. 

If you need additional assistance send us an email.

Archival and Manuscript Repositories Online

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,400 archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
California Revealed
California Revealed is a State Library initiative to help California’s public libraries, in partnership with other local heritage groups, digitize, preserve, and provide online access to archival materials - books, newspapers, photographs, audiovisual recordings, and more - that tell the incredible stories of the Golden State. We also provide free access and preservation services for existing digital collections, including technical advice and guidance, for partner organizations with in-house digitization programs.
Directory of Archival and Manuscript Repositories in California
The 1st edition of the Directory of Archival and Manuscript Repositories in California was published in 1975, the 2nd edition in 1984, the 3rd edition in 1991, the 4th edition in 1996. The 5th edition, the first to be published on the web instead of in print, was published in 2023.This 5th edition was compiled by the SCA Publications Committee from data collected via a survey sent to the California archival community. The directory was accurate at the time of publication, but may not reflect subsequent changes in contact information or web addresses.
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
WorldCat
WorldCat.org is a great resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. And by connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one easy search box.
more...less...
To find archival materials, type in search terms and narrow down using the "Format" limiters "Manuscripts" or "Archival Materials".

Paulina June and George Pollak Library
Pollak Library South, Room 352
Email: uasc@fullerton.libanswers.com
Phone: (657) 278-3445

University Archives & Special Collections

Hours

Visiting

Archival and Manuscript Repositories Online

Web Accessibility