Skip to main content

Geological Sciences: Cite | Write | Publish

Research guide for geological sciences

What are peer-reviewed articles?

Peer-reviewed articles have been reviewed by experts in the field under either a single-blind review (where the identity of the reviewer is anonymous, but the author's name and affiliation are on the manuscript) or a double-blind system (where neither the authors nor the reviewers' identity is known).

Bibliographic Management Software

EndNote logo  Endnote desktop logoMendeley logozotero logo image      


  • EndNote Online (Web)

This is a free, web-based bibliographic management software that allows to collect, organize and format references and more. To create an account you will need to register via the Web of Science database.
More help and features:
See EndNote guide

EndNote Online Exercise


  • EndNote Desktop

Download
Training (Desktop and Online version)


EndNote with LaTeX (MIT)
EndNote with LaTeX (University of Melbourne)


  • Zotero

Zotero is a powerful, easy-to-use research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and then share the results of your research. Create an account online with Zotero.  For more help and frequently asked questions with Zotero


  • Mendeley

Tutorial videos for Mendeley

Getting started with Mendeley Web

Getting started wirth Mendeley desktop

Mendeley Web Importer (drag to favorite bar)


Comparison table of bibliographic management tools (University of Oxford)

Impact Factor | h-Index | Altmetrics

  • Impact Factor (IF)

Impact factors give a quantitative measure of a journal’s influence and impact.
An Impact Factor gives the average number of times articles from a journal published 2 years that been cited in the Journal Citation Reports year.

 

E.g. The 2016 Impact Factor for a Journal:
A = the number of times articles published in 2014-2015 were cited
in indexed journals during 2016
B = the number of articles, reviews, proceedings or notes
published in 2014-2015

 In a 2016 journal, the Impact Factor (IF) = A/B
 

Hence, a  2016 journal with an Impact Factor (IF) of say 7.123 means that on average, each of its 2013 and 2014  articles was cited 7.123 times in 2016.


  • h-Index

(Originally described by Jorge Hirsch)
An integer metric that provides a value for the productivity  and citation impact of a scientist, group or institution publications via quantity (# papers) and quality (# citations). Obtained from WoS   and  Scopus.

Miscellaneous (Citing legal information)

DIMENSIONS

DIMENSIONS: The Journal of Undergraduate Research in Natural Sciences and Mathematics
DIMENSIONS provides students in California State University, Fullerton's College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics an opportunity to publish their research, share their findings, and gain experience in the peer review publication process.

Writing Scientific Reports

The Writing Center (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

Writing a Scientific Lab Report (Monash University)

Writing a Research Report (MIT)

Writing Scientific Reports (University of Waikato)

Writing a Scientific Report (University of Sheffield)

Journal Information

Journal Citation Reports logo      Cabells logo  ulrichzweb logoElsevier Journal Metrics logo  Google Scholar logo

1. Look at the journal's webpage (Publication format, scope, review times, impact factor, etc.)
2. Journal Citation Reports (Access citation data like impact factors)
3. Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities (Assist in selecting journals likely to publish a manuscript, acceptance rates, time of review, time of publications, freq. of publication, publisher, editorial info., etc. ). Cabell's classification.
4. Ulrich's Periodicals Directory (Directory containing info about academic journals, e-journals, popular magazines, newspapers, e.g. peer-review status, start of publication, frequency of publication etc.).
5. Journal Metrics (From Elsevier. Free metrics for serial titles in Scopus)
6. Google Scholar Metrics (Summarize recent citations to many publications)

European Reference Index for the Humanities

There is no humanities journal list in the Journal Citation Reports, but the European Reference Index for the Humanities may be helpful.

Open Access (OA)

1. *Open Access Overview LibGuideOpen Access logo
(Intro to  Open Access Publishing Fund (Covers up to $2000 of author submission fees)
2. Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (Online directory that
indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals)
3. SHERPA-Juliet (Research funders' open access policies)
4. SHERPA-Romeo (Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving)
5. PLOS Journals (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit open access
scientific publishing project aimed at creating a library of open access journals) 

HELP - Writing, tutoring and more...


Scientific writing

Thesis | Dissertation

CSUF Thesis

1. How do I write a thesis at CSUF?
2. How do I find a CSUF thesis?
3. More on thesis information for CSUF students (i.e., deadlines, awards...)


            Searching: Thesis / Dissertations


Data Repositories

  1. CSU ScholarWorks (i.e., our shared CSU institutional repository)
  2. Recommended Data Repositories (from Nature)
  3. Figshare
  4. Dryad
  5. National Technical Reports Library
  6. re3data.org

For more information on Data Management Planning (DMP) from  National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM)  and our DMP LibGuide

Creative Commons