LibGuides: Geological Sciences: Home

Major Resources

GeoRef Available via Elsevier/Engineering Village. Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef is a comprehensive geoscience database containing over 3.2 million bibliographic records from more than 3,500 journals and other sources including: books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations. Among the subjects covered in GeoRef are: environmental and engineering geology, hydrology, economic geology, geophysics, petrology, paleontology, marine geology and oceanography, and mineralogy. Coverage for the geology of North America is from 1669 to the present, and coverage dates back to 1933 for the rest of the world.
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. From researchers pursuing scientific breakthroughs to academic institutions and government agencies evaluating research, Scopus is the abstract and indexing database of choice.
Compendex (Engineering Village) Access to GEOBASE, GeoRef,and Compendex (Engineering village). This resource is an abstracting and indexing database, comprising coverage of >28M records of highly curated, globally published, scientific content, focused primarily on applied engineering research, literature and technical information.
SciFinder-n SciFinder-n is a resource from the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS). It is the most comprehensive discovery tool of chemical and bibliographic information covering scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Chemical literature (CAS) coverage is from 1907 to present. Biomedical literature (MEDLINE) is from 1950 to present. SciFinder-n requires users to create individual accounts for access.
Science Direct Science Direct provides access to over 2500 scientific scholarly journals in the areas of biochemistry, biological sciences, business and management science, chemistry, clinical medicine, earth sciences, economics, engineering and technology, environmental science, materials science, mathematics and computer science, microbiology and immunology, neurosciences, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, social sciences and more. Many articles are in full-text.
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
Dimensions Dimensions is the most comprehensive research grants database which links grants to millions of resulting publications, clinical trials and patents.
Google Scholar Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
more...less...
For help using Google Scholar,
https://libraryguides.fullerton.edu/google_scholar

Organizations

Professional Organizations

Regional Societies

Open Access Agreements (publish at no cost)

ACS Publications (until Dec. 2025)
Cambridge University Press (until Dec. 2024)
Elsevier (until Dec. 2024)
IOPScience (until Dec. 2025)

Laptop/Device Checkout

Students can checkout laptops and other devices from the Center for Equitable Digital Access (Library North 2nd Floor) and the Student Genius Center (Library North 1st Floor)

STEM Research Guides

Engineering & Computer Science

Research guide for engineering & computer science

Inciteful

The Paper Discovery tool builds a network of papers from citations, uses network analysis algorithms to analyze the network, and gives you the information you need to quickly get up to speed on that topic. Use the Quick Start section to dive right in and figure it out as you go.

Study Space Reservation

Study space reservation rooms (Pollak Library North and South)
Study space reservation for smart group study rooms (PLN-111, 112, 113; PLN-211, 212, 213, 214; PLN-311, 312)
Study space reservation for larger rooms (PLN-140, PLS-360, PLN-130).
Study space reservation for the Innovation/Makerspace (PLN-215)

Other areas of interest:
CSUF Startup Incubator