It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference) Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Oxford ReferenceCollection of 260+ Reference books; including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books of quotations, includes resources in a wide range of fields.
Encyclopedia of Geology by Robin Cocks (Editor); Ian Plimer (Editor); Richard C. Selley (Editor)Encyclopedia of Geology is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology. The concepts and theory are explained at a level that allows undergraduates and educated lay people to understand them. The reference has been planned and structured to provide the user with a comprehensive coverage of the core knowledge in each area. It will become the reference of choice for today's geologists and beyond.
Call Number: QE5 .E516 2005 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 2004-12-16
The Encyclopedia of Field and General Geology by Charles W. Finkl (Editor)Acoustic Surveys, Marine. Aerial Surveys. Alidade. Alluvial Systems Modeling. Artificial Deposits and Modified Land. Atmogeochemical Prospecting. Augers, Augering (Soil). Biogeochemistry. Blasting and Related Technology. Block Diagram. Blowpipe Analysis. Borehole Drilling. Borehole Mining. Canals and Waterways, Sediment Control. Cartography, General. Cat Clays. Cities, Geologic Effects of. Coal Mining. Compass Traverse. Computers in Geology. Cratering. Cross-Sections. Dispersive Clays. Environmental Engineering. Environmental Management. Expansive Soils, Engineering Geology. Exploration Geochemistry. Exploration Geophysics. Exposures, Examination of. Field Geology. Field Notes, Notebooks. Floating Structures in Waves. Fossils and Fossilization. Fractures, Fracture Structures. Geoanthropology. Geoarchaeology. Geobotanical Prospecting. Geohistory, American Founding Fathers. Geological Cataloguing. Geological Fieldwork, Codes. Geological Highway Maps. Geological Methodology. Geological Survey and Mapping. Geological Surveys, State and Federal. Geological Writing. Geologic Reports. Geologic Systems, Energy Factors. Geology, Philosophy of. Geology, Scope and Classification. Geomagnetism and Paleomagnetism. Geomicrobiology. Geomythology. Geonomy. Geophilately. Geostatistics. Groundwater Exploration. Harbor Surveys. Hardrock versus Softrock Geology. HydrochemicaI Prospecting. Igneous Rocks, Field Relations. Indicator Elements. Lake Sediment Geochemistry. Land Capability Analysis. Landslide Control. Legal Affairs. Lichenometry. Lithogeochemical Prospecting. Map Abbreviations, Ciphers, and Mnemonicons. Map and Chart Depositories. Map Colors, Coloring. Maps, Environmental Geology. Maps, Logic of. Maps, Physical Properties. Map Series and Scales. Map Symbols. Marine Exploration Geochemistry. Marine Magnetic Surveys. Marine Mining. Mathematical Geology. Mineral Identification, Classical Field Methods. Mineraloids. Minerals and Mineralogy. Mine Subsidence Control. Mining Preplanning. Offshore Nuclear Plant Protection. Open Space. Pedogeochemical Prospecting. Petroleum Exploration Geochemistry. Petroleum Geology. Photogeology. Photointerpretation. Placer Mining. Plane Table Mapping. Plate Tectonics and Continental Drift. Plate Tectonics and Mineral Exploration. Popular Geology. Professional Geologists' Associations. Profile Construction. Prospecting. Punch Cards, Geologic Referencing. Remote Sensing, General. Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry, Societies and Periodicals. Rock-Color Chart. Rock Particles, Fragments. Samples, Sampling. Saprolite, Regolith, and Soil. Satellite Geodesy and Geodynamics. Scientific Method (Scientific Methodology). Sea Surveys. Sedimentary Rocks, Field Relations. Serendipity. Slope Stability Analysis. Soil Fabric. Soil Sampling. Soils and Weathered Materials, Field Methods and Survey. Surveying, Electronic Distance Measurement. Surveying, General. Tephrochronology. Terrain Evaluation Systems. Uniformitarianism. Vegetation Mapping. VLF Electromagnetic Prospecting. Well Logging.
Call Number: QE5 .E515 1988 ( Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 1988-04-30
The Encyclopedia of Applied Geology by Charles W. Finkl (Editor)Machine derived contents note: Alluvial Plains, Engineering Geology. Alluvial Valley Engineering. Arid Lands, Engineering Geology. Atterberg Limits and Indices. Beach Replenishment, Artificial. Caliche, Engineering Geology. Cavity Utilization. Channelization and Bank Stabilization. Clay, Engineering Geology. Clays, Strength of. Coastal Engineering. Coastal Inlets, Engineering Geology. Computerized Resources Information Bank. Conferences, Congresses, and Symposia. Consolidation, Soil. Dams, Engineering Geology. Deltaic Plains, Engineering Geology. Duricrust, Engineering Geology. Earthquake Engineering. Earth Science, Information and Sources. Economic Geology. Electrokinetics. Engineering Geology Reports. Field Geology. Forensic Geology. Formation Pressures, Abnormal. Foundation Engineering. Geochemistry, Applied. Geochronology. Geocryology. Geological Communication. Geological Information, Marketing. Geology, Applied. Geomorphology, Applied. Geotechnical Engineering. Glacial Landscapes, Engineering Geology. Grout, Grouting. Hydrodynamics, Porous Media. Hydrogeology and Geohydrology. Hydrology. Hydromechanics. Information Centers. International Geochronological Time Scale. Laterite, Engineering Geology. Lime Stabilization. Magnetic Susceptibility, Earth Materials. Maps, Engineering Purposes. Marine Sediments, Geotechnical Properties. Medical Geology. Military Geoscience. Mineragraphy. Mineral Economics. Nuclear Plant Siting, Offshore. Oceanography, Applied. Permafrost, Engineering Geology. Photogrammetry. Pipeline Corridor Evaluation. Pumping Stations and Pipelines, Engineering Geology. Rapid Excavation and Tunneling. Reinforced Earth. Remote Sensing, Engineering Geology. Residual Stress, Rocks. Rheology, Soil and Rock. River Engineering. Rock Mechanics. Rocks, Engineering Properties. Rock Slope Engineering. Rock Structure Monitoring. Seismological Methods. Shaft Sinking. Shale Materials, Engineering Classification. Soil Classification System, Unified. Soil Mechanics. Soil Mechanics, History of. Soil Mineralogy, Engineering Applications. Submersibles. Terrain Evaluation, Military Purposes. Tunnels, Tunneling. Undersea Transmission Lines, Engineering Geology. Urban Engineering Geology. Urban Geology. Urban Geomorphology. Urban Hydrology. Urban Tunnels and Subways. Well Data Systems. Wells, Aerial. Wells, Water.
Call Number: QE5 .E5 1984 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Call Number: QE5 .F33 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 2006-09-21
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of the Geological Sciences by Sybil P. Parker (Contribution by)In-depth, comprehensive coverage of the Earth's solid phase with more than 50% new and revised material. This one-volume Encyclopedia provides a comprehensive treatment of the geological sciences and of the essential materials, processes, compositions, and physical characteristics of the solid part of the Earth's system. It includes both theoretical and practical information on such topics as mineralogy, petrology, historical and surficial geology, geochemistry, geophysics, paleontology, and soil science. A vital source of information for professionals, educators, and students, this updated Second Edition includes 520 alphabetically arranged articles, 650 halftones and line drawings, cross-references to related topics, and a 4500-entry analytical index.
Call Number: QE5 .M29 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 1988-03-01
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by Michael AllabyThis leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries. Coverage includes geology, planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology, as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Dictionary of Geology and Mineralogy by McGraw-Hill Staffhis reference contains around 7000 geological terms, some with multiple definitions. Each definition is identified by the field in which it is primarily used, and an appendix includes SI units, conversion tables, periodic table, and geological time-scale.
Call Number: QE5 .M3654 1997 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
Geostatistical Glossary and Multilingual Dictionary by Ricardo A. Olea (Editor)Geostatistics is a branch of mathematics that deals with the sampling, analysis, interpretation and display of phenomena that fluctuate in space. Although not all geostatistical methods are probabilistic in nature, the most important accomplishments in the field have been in estimation and forecasting, extending probabilistic methods of stochastic processes and time series analysis to the spatial domain. This book gives the only available comprehensive collection of definitions of geostatistical terms.
Call Number: QE33.2.M3 G46 1991 (Basement North Compact Stacks)
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.