Welcome, Bienvenidos, Nanmoyolihcatzin
This guide is intended to give you an idea of the Chicanx Studies research resources for history topic available to you at the Cal State Fullerton's Pollak Library. HISTORICAL RESEARCH IN CHICANA AND CHICANO STUDIES IS COMPLICATED BECAUSE IT IS MULTIDISCIPLINARY AND OFTEN CONTROVERSIAL. The Databases and websites listed below only a place to start. There may be many additional resources depending on your actual research topic.
Look for additional resources by checking out the research guides that relate the subject area of your history topic. For example, if you are studying: Chicanx murals check out the ART databases; Health care issues in the Chicanx Community, take a look at Public Health (Health Sciences) databases; Chicanx Hip Hop in Los Angeles, try the Music databases; Educational issues in the Chicanx Community, explore the Education databases
Databases with journal articles, books, and book chapters on Historical topics
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowThis EBSCO database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. CLIO Notes provides chronologies and hundreds of brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new windowContains newspaper, magazine, journal, and book articles, books, government documents, pamphlets, and dissertations about Mexican-Americans, Chicanos, and Latinos. Subject areas covered: art, bilingual education, culture, economics, education, film, folklore, health, history, labor, law, literature, mental health, music, politics, psychology, public policy, religion, sociology, women's studies, and more. Languages: English; some Spanish.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
If you have problems connecting, go to the main Google Scholar page (https://scholar.google.com/) where you will find a link to Settings. Once you click on it, you'll be taken to a page with "Library Links" on the left side. Search for Fullerton or "California State University Fullerton" and once you check the box next to "California State University Fullerton - Pollak Library FindIt!" you'll see the links appear.
Note - if we have it electronically, a link will appear on the right. If we have it in print, you'll have to click on "More" under the article to get the FindIt! link. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window This interdisciplinary journal collection provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals. It is particularly strong in the humanities disciplines, such as literature, history, and area studies (Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe), but also has content from the sciences and the social sciences.
- Academic Search Premier General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database covering applied sciences, art, education, humanities, law, social sciences, business and technology.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective:1907-1984 This link opens in a new windowHumanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilsons International Index is also included. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from underrepresented and independent presses. This database includes publications that highlight diverse cultural perspectives, social issues, and community voices. Content is available in both English and Spanish and features a timeline of key historical events.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Useful in the fields of history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, education, music & art, law. It indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. For the history of the U.S. and Canada, see 'America: History and Life' database.
Book, Dissertations, and Theses databases
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowCombines the catalogs from OCLC member libraries (50,000+ libraries in 80+ countries). Indexes all types of materials, including: books, computer data files, computer programs, films and slides, internet resources, journals, magazines, manuscripts, archives, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound and video media in 400+ languages. Titles in original language; can limit to desired material type.
- ACLS Humanities E-book This link opens in a new window Database accessible via Fulcrum website. E-books in the humanities, including history, literature, religion, art history, women's studies, area studies, political science and philosophy. Historical periods include most parts of the world and most time periods.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window Includes Childhood Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Psychology, Social Work and Sociology. The annotated bibliography with supporting explanations presents the preeminent research on these subjects. Editors are distinguished scholars in their field and resulting citations are highly recommended.
- Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,000,000 digitized doctoral dissertations in the humanities and social sciences. It also contains master's theses, including 4,000+ from Cal State Fullerton students, 1967-present. Citations for dissertations from around the world from 1637. NOTE: Includes the theses of Fullerton graduate students who have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing.
Using OneSearch to find Articles, Books, and other Materials
Using OneSearch is easy but it can be a little tricky for doing research in many multidisciplinary subject areas including this one. Here are some tips to help you use it.
-
Use the ADVANCED SEARCH option found to the left of the OneSearch search box on the library homepage.
-
At the first opportunity, get in the habit of signing in. Signing in lets you see more options and allows you to request books, articles and other materials that the Pollak Library does not own from other CSUs and other libraries.* There are certain databases that will only be searched once you are logged in.**
-
OneSearch emphasizes full text. Abstract databases and Index databases -- SOME IMPORTANT DATABASES ARE IN THESE CATEGORIES -- can be excluded from your search results until you expand your results. Here is how to do this: Once you have done a search, look for a sentence below the search box that says: Didn't find what you are looking for? Click here to include Results from Other Libraries (This may seem misleading as you are actually getting more results from our library as well as those from other libraries. We may actually have access to the full-text in another database we own or we can request it from another library.)
-
Examine the other possible options in Refine my Results column to narrow your search.
-
If you are still having trouble come to the researchdesk or contact me at bmiller@fullerton.edu
- OneSearch from the Pollak Library HomepageStart Searching OneSearch from the Pollak Library Homepage
*Including books that are checked out here at CSUF!
**Please note that not all of our databases are actually being searched by OneSearch. We are adding them as quickly as possible. If you go to the databases tab on the Pollak Library homepage and browse by Database Name, you can see which databases are being searched. They have the OneSearch symbol