Skip to main content

Chemistry & Biochemistry: Home

Research guide for chemistry

Major Databases

SciFinder logo

pubchem logoPubMed logo  EBSCO host logo ScienceDirect logo    

Journal Citation Reports logo  Google Scholar logo


  • SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
    SciFinder (1907 to present) is a comprehensive source for chemical information, covering scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. SciFinder requires each user to create their own account for access.
  • Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
    Web of Science  (1988 to present) is a multidisciplinary index that covers the sciences, social sciences, and arts &  humanities.Coverage includes scholarly journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Web of Science includes the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900 to present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 to present), Conference Proceedings Citation Indexes (1990 to present; >110,000 conferences). 
  • Reaxys (CSUF does not subscribe)
  • PubChem (contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules)
  • PubMed (NLM)
    PubMed (1948 to present) is a comprehensive index to biomedical and life sciences journals.
  • ScienceDirect
    Provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals in all areas of science.
  • EBSCOhost
    General database that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology.
  • Journal Citation Reports
    Citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals in science, technology, and social sciences. You can find the most frequently cited journals in a field, highest impact journals in a field, largest journals in a field.
  • Google Scholar
    Scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports and more.

Drawing Software

molecule rotating

ChemSketch is a free software, similar to ChemDraw, containing functions such as making chemical movies (above).

Other free drawing software includes:


Free molecular graphics and visualization programs:

Publications

Science Librarian

Robert Tomaszewski's picture
Robert Tomaszewski
Contact:
Pollak Library, PLN-125
rtomaszewski@fullerton.edu
657-278-2976

MSDS Online

Material Safety logoMaterial Safety Data Sheets (MSDS Online)
Over one million Materials Safety Data Sheets. A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) is a summary of information on a given chemical identifying material, health, and physical hazards, exposure limits, and precautions.

Library Catalog

Start with the LIBRARY CATALOG


A call number is an identification number (consisting of characters and numbers), used to identify and locate materials within a library. Library of Congress Classification - Sciences

New OneSearch playlist now on YouTube.