There are great Web sites on the Internet for CTVA students: sites of professional organizations, sites of career information, sites of industry resources, etc. Below is a list of some useful/popular cinema, television, and radio sites.
1. National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
This is a professional association of broadcasters (TV, cable, etc.) Includes info, tips, etc.
2. Broadcast Education Association (BEA)
Another professional association, focusing on career development and job leads.
1. Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
(Professional organization that gives our Oscars and also has student awards)
2. American Cinematheque
(Lists events at the Egyptian Theater)
3. American Film Institute
(Information about AFI events and courses)
4. Film Forum
(Gives play dates and places of experimental and independent films)
5. Foreign Films
Reviews and information about where to obtain films produced in other countries)
6. Independent Film Channel
(Cable TV channel that programs independent films and information about them)
7.Internet Movie Database
(Database of movies and TV shows)
8.Next Wave Films
(Resources and information for emerging film makers)
9.UCLA Film and Television Archive
(Lists the archives’ film and TV programs and special events)
Search engine of over 3,200 independent documentaries from 8 different
Previews, listings, news, and information about particular shows and television in general
2. Paley Center for Media
Information about the this radio and television museum/center in Los Angeles
3. UCLA Film and Television Archive
Lists the archives’ film and TV programs and special events
4. Academy of Television Arts and Sciences
(Professional organization, awarding Emmys and also awards and internships for students)
5. Encyclopedia of Television
Online excerpts from this print publication. Provided by the Museum of Broadcast Communication.
6. Entertainment Tonight
(Information about the program and the entertainment business in general)
(Company that does television ratings)
8. TV Party
(Clips from old and new TV shows and general information about television)
9. Television News Archive
(Vanderbilt Univ. archive of 30,000 TV news broadcasts going back over 10
years, from all major networks: ABC,CBS,NBC,CNN).
A digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s.
These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B).
They are now archived online at the Duke University Library.
1. American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers
(Music licensing organization)
(Company that conducts radio ratings)
3. Broadcast Music Inc.
(A music licensing organization)