Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cinema and Television Arts (CTVA): Choosing Databases

Choosing Databases

There are many databases useful for CTVA research, but it depends what you need.  Looking for a scholarly article?  Need a newspaper story?  Want corporate info on a film company?  Just need some statistics on the movie industry?  The groupings below categorize the library's databases into categories to match your needs.

CTVA SCHOLARLY JOURNAL DATABASES
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO)
JSTOR
Communicaton Source (EBSCO)
Film Literature Index  (limited in scope: citations only, 1976-2001 only)

RELATED FIELDS SCHOLARLY JOURNAL DATABASES
Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (EBSCO)
ABI/INFORM Business Publications (ProQuest)
America History & Life (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) (all fields)

NEWSPAPER DATABASES
US Newsstream: 1980-current (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream: 1980-current (ProQuest)
California Custom News Collection (Newsbank)
Access World News (Newsbank)

SPECIFIC NEWSPAPERS
Los Angeles Times: 1996-present (ProQuest)
Los Angeles Times Historical: 1881-1996 (ProQuest)
New York Times - 1980-present (ProQuest)
New York Times Historical: 1851-2017 (ProQuest)
Orange County Register
The Times (London) Digital Archive (Gale)

FILM SCRIPTS DATABASE
American Film Scripts online

FILM NDUSTRY/COMPANY INFORMATION
IBISWorld
Mergent Online

FACTS/STATISTICS/REPORTS
Statista
CQ Researcher
Gale eBooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference)

MAGAZINE DATABASE
Reader's Guide Full Text
Reader's Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION
Biography Index
Biography Index Retrospective: 1946-1983

CTVA Librarian

Profile Photo
John Hickok
Contact:
657.278.4394
jhickok@fullerton.edu