Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cinema and Television Arts (CTVA): Finding Statistics

CINEMA STATISTICS

icon of cinema statistics chart                        The Library now subscribes to a fantastic database called Statista.  This is the full version, not the free/teaser version you see at the Statista website.  So you can search the Statista database, just with keywords, and get all kinds of statistics on films and the film industry (plus get the source of the statistics at the bottom!).  In addition to Statista, Google is a useful tool for finding statistics.  Googling CTVA-related keywords with the word "statistics" often yields credible sites with statistics (MPAA, Variety, Hollywood Reporter, etc.)  The following resources below also yield statistics.

INDUSTRY 
Cinema production Industry statistics..................................................................IBIS World & ABI/Inform database*
Movie theater industry statistics...........................................................................IBIS World ABI/Inform database*
Home video industry statistics..............................................................................IBIS World & ABI/Inform database*
Cinema and Home video industry statistics.........................................................MPAA reports websiteDataUSA site1, site2
Market Share/ Rank statistics (biggest studios, top % theater chains, etc.)........Gale Directory database**

BOX OFFICE
Film release schedules, domestic & international ticket sales, sales records, etc..........www.the-numbers.com
Film release schedules, box office sales, historic top sales, rankings, etc......................www.boxofficemojo.com
Film release schedules....................................................................................................www.firstshowing.net
Box office revenues.........................................................................................................MPAA reports website
Box office film rankings...................................................................................................Comscore rankings

HOME VIDEO
DVD/streaming release schedules, DVD/streaming ranks, Distributors, etc...................www.the-numbers.com
DVD/streaming sales, most viewed titles, format comparisons, etc................................MPAA reports website
Home video sale/subscription rankings...........................................................................Comscore rankings

DEMOGRAPHICS
Cinema viewer demographics (attendance, ages, ethnicities, most viewed films, etc.)..MPAA reports website
Cinema viewer consumer characteristics........................................................................Global Cinema Advertising Assoc. reports
Home video viewer demographics (subscribers, viewing time, ages, ethnicities, etc.)...MPAA reports website

FILM PRODUCTION / FACTS
Budgets, production companies, genres/franchises, releases, etc..................www.the-numbers.comwww.boxofficemojo.com
Film lists, genres/franchises, history, cast/crew info, rankings, facts...............www.imdb.comwww.filmsite.org
 

* go to ABI/Inform, choose "Browse", choose "First Research", choose your industry
** go to Gale Directory, choose "Market Share" or "Business Ranking", type your keywords

TELEVISION STATISTICS

[Currently being updated]icon of television statistics

CTVA Librarian

Profile Photo
John Hickok
Contact:
657.278.4394
jhickok@fullerton.edu