UA&SC: World History

Our main catalogue for millions of records for books, journals, newspapers, printed maps, scores, electronic resources, sound archive items etc. in the Library's collections. Some content is legal deposit or subscribed and only available to Readers. Also included are thousands of records for open access items freely available online.

The historical map collection has over 92,000 maps and related images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific, Arctic, Antarctic, and the World.

The Near East Section was established in 1945 following the end of World War II. It has in its custody materials in several formats: from exquisite manuscripts to early printed books; and from historic and contemporary newspapers, on microfilm and microfiche, to political and cultural ephemera-in over 40 languages of North Africa and the Middle East, as well as those of the countries and peoples of the Caucasus and Central Asia.

The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is the premier research library for Egyptology at the University of Oxford. It incorporates the libraries previously housed in the Griffith Institute and the Ashmolean Museum.

These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions. Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

Europeana Collections provides access to over 50 million digitised items – books, music, artworks and more. Thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions.

A digital library, offering the full-text of books and other print library materials, formed by a partnership of academic research libraries. NOTE: CSUF Library users have search and preview access only. Full-text access is only available for works deemed to be in the public domain in the United States of America.

The Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures' comprehensive collections, including artifacts, photographs, excavation records, administrative documents, and publications, serve the public in exhibits and online, as well as being an extremely rich resource for scholars. Management of the materials that comprise ISAC's collections is organized into five units: Museum Registration, Tablet Collection, Archives, Conservation, and the Research Library.

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. The Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.

This category documents the discovery and exploration with both manuscripts and published maps. Many of these maps reflect the European Age of Discoveries, dating from the late 15th century to the 17th century when Europeans were concerned primarily with determining the outline of the continents as they explored and mapped the coastal areas and the major waterways. Also included are 18th and 19th century maps documenting the exploration and mapping of the interior parts of the continents, reflecting the work of Lewis and Clark and subsequent government explorers and surveyors.

The easy to use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world. OldMapsOnline.org indexes over 500,000 maps.

The best free cultural and educational media on the web.

UNM University Libraries offers digital copies on many Latin American sources in New Mexico's Digital Collections, This public resource contains digitized materials from libraries, archives, and museums throughout New Mexico and in Mexico City. It is hosted by UNM University Libraries.

The California State University IMAGE Project collects images that are global in coverage and include all areas of visual imagery. Images in this collection may be freely used for non-profit educational use. DIVA provides access to images collected by the California State University IMAGE Project.

The photographic and cinematographic collections from The Archives de la Planète of the early 20th century are accessible online and downloadable in high resolution, under license. Their usage rights are indicated in the General Usage Conditions.

The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of UNESCO and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL offers significant multilingual primary source materials from all countries and cultures.

WorldCat.org is a resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. By connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one search box.