LibGuides: ASAM 308 Asian American Women: Primary Sources

Archival/Primary Sources

The Center for Oral and Public History, CSUF
"With more than 5,000 recorded interviews and related transcripts, photographs, and other materials, COPH maintains the largest oral history archive in the state of California."
University Archive and Special Collections
"...preserves and provides access to eighty-eight special collections... including Archives of Popular Culture, Local History Collection, Freedom Center Collection, Science Fiction Collection, and others."

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Indexes almost a million descriptions of archival collections held by more than 2,500 libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. The detailed, archival collection descriptions have been written by archivists. Subject strengths include history, humanities, art, social sciences, and genealogy. Search results include the title of the collection, holding institution, brief description, and a link to an extended description.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
This database available via Gale, brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from a variety of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
Women and Social Movements This link opens in a new window
Provides primary and secondary sources for the study of womens activism and social movements in the United States from colonial times to the present, including the full-text books, documents, articles, bibliographies, and images. Also included are teaching tools with lesson plans, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a Dictionary of Social Movements.

Calisphere
"Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California."
Internet Archive
"The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form" and offers provide free access to materials.
Regional Oral History Online
"The Regional Oral History Office (ROHO), a division of The Bancroft Library, documents the history of California, the nation, and the interconnected global arena. ROHO produces carefully researched, audio/video-recorded and transcribed oral histories and interpretative historical materials for the widest possible use."
American Memory
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."

Newspaper Articles

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many major U.S. and international newspapers, including local titles (LA Times, Orange County Register) and national titles.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from the ethnic, minority, and native presses. Specific ethnic group publications included are: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic/Latino/Chicano; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; Native People. Languages: English and Spanish. Also contains a timeline of events.
Los Angeles Times: 1996-present This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text (HTML text, not PDF) of the 'Los Angeles Times' newspaper. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and other means. Provides a Topic Guide of subjects, and has a Search Alert service. No images (charts, graphs, photos) are included.
Los Angeles Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Times - 1996-present This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text (HTML text, not PDF) of the 'New York Times' newspaper. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and other means. Provides a Topic Guide of subjects, and has a Search Alert service.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Los Angeles Review of Books
"The Los Angeles Review of Books is a nonprofit, multimedia literary and cultural arts magazine... a community of writers, critics, journalists, artists, filmmakers, and scholars dedicated to promoting and disseminating the best that is thought and written, with an enduring commitment to the intellectual rigor, the incisiveness, and the power of the written word."
The New York Review of Books
"The New York Review began during the New York publishing strike of 1963, when its founding editors, Robert Silvers and Barbara Epstein, and their friends, decided to create a new kind of magazine—one in which the most interesting and qualified minds of our time would discuss current books and issues in depth. Just as importantly, it was determined that the Review should be an independent publication; it began life as an independent editorial voice and it remains independent today."

Westlaw Next Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Westlaw Next Campus Research is a comprehensive legal database, which includes federal and all 50 states materials; such as statutes, regulations, briefs, proposed and enacted legislation and the US Code Annotated. This database also includes West's KeyCite feature for verification of the status of a case, statute, administrative decision, or regulation and Wests Key Number System.

Magazine Articles

Readers Guide Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 400 of the most popular magazines and journals published in the United States and Canada, with about full text for half of them. Particularly useful for locating magazines dealing with popular culture, such as fashion, current events, home and garden, entertainment, consumer information, and sports.
Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Indexes older issues of over 375 magazines and journals, such as Business Week (1929-1982), Good Housekeeping (1916-1982), and National Geographic (1888-1982). Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reviews for over 600,000 books published since 1983, including fiction, nonfiction, books for children, and reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences. Includes both positive and negative reviews. Citations from thousands of periodicals. Daily updates.
Book Review Digest Retrospective 1905-1982 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reviews of 300,000 older books, with excerpts of the review provided. The reviews come from about 500 English-language popular magazines, newspapers, and academic journals published during the 20th century. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

ASAM 308 Asian American Women: Primary Sources

Archival/Primary Sources

Newspaper Articles

Magazine Articles

Web Accessibility