LibGuides: CSUF Pollak Library resources & services for Faculty: Publishing info

Evaluating Scholarly Publications

Here are a number of resources that will help you find out more information about scholarly publication and journals.

Scopus
From Elsevier: three different impact metrics are all based on methodologies developed by external bibliometricians and use Scopus as the data source. Scopus is the largest citation database of peer-reviewed literature and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research output. Via this website, the three journal metrics are provided free of charge.

Google Metrics
Ranks publications in Google Scholar by analyzing the last five years of journal articles from websites that follow Google's inclusion guidelines as well as conference articles and preprints from a small number of manually identified sources. Excludes publications with less than 100 articles during the five-year period and those with no citations. The metrics provided are the h-index, h-core, h-median, h5-index, h5-core, and h5-median.

CWTS Journal Indicators
Indicators have been calculated by Leiden University’s Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) based on the Scopus bibliographic database produced by Elsevier.

Eigenfactor.org
A free and searchable database, journals listed in the Eigenfactor database may be searched by ISSN, publisher, year published, exact journal name or by using the Journal Citation Report ISI categories.

Harzing.com
Compiles rankings of journals from various sources in the areas of Economics, Finance, Accounting, Management, and Marketing.

Cabell's International
Current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail, web sites and acceptance rates for a large number of journals. Also, publication guidelines and review information that is useful in evaluating journals and publishing options.

Ulrichs Periodicals Directory
Directory of approximately 250,000 regularly and irregularly published journals, magazines, newspapers, and full-text electronic resources from more than 200 countries. Search or browse by title, keyword, subject, ISSN or publisher; list and sorting options; and highlights of new, changed, and ceased titles.

Rights and Permissions For Your Work

Learn more about your rights as an author.

SPARC Author Rights
"When you decide to publish an article in a peer-reviewed journal, you own the full copyrights to that article. If you publish in an open access journal, you retain your full copyrights. However, if you choose to publish in a traditional subscription access journal, you will be required to sign a form transferring some – or all – of your copyrights to that publisher. That doesn’t have to be the end of the story."

SHERPA/RoMEO
Use this site to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.

Harry Ransom Center
A database of copyright contacts for writers, artists, and prominent people in other creative fields.

Go Open!

Open Access Library Guide
Give your research more exposure by publishing in an Open Access journal! Learn about OA journals and grant opportunities to cover article processing charges.
Open Access Publishing Funds
These funds aims to reduce the financial barriers presented by Author Publication Charges (APCs) that might prevent faculty and students from publishing in peer-reviewed, open access journals.
CSU Fullerton ScholarWorks
This institutional repository is designed to preserve and openly share the scholarly and creative works of members of the CSU Fullerton community to a global audience.

Faculty Development Center

Cal State Fullerton's Faculty Development Center offers professional development and support for faculty at all stages of their career. They offer regular workshops, both online and in-person, as well as a wide variety of helpful guides for teaching, research, and publication.

Create or Connect Your ORCID iD

An ORCID ID is a digital identifier that distinguishes you from other researchers and links your work across publishers to one place.

Click this button to create a new ORCID iD, or to connect your ORCID iD to CSU Fullerton.

Once connected, you can log into your ORCID account using your CSUF network credentials.

Detailed Registration Instructions

CSUF Pollak Library resources & services for Faculty: Publishing info

Evaluating Scholarly Publications

Rights and Permissions For Your Work

Go Open!

Faculty Development Center

Create or Connect Your ORCID iD

Web Accessibility