Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education: Books & Encyclopedias

A portal to resources for research in education. This guide is primarily intended for graduate students in the College of Education.

Contactless Book Pickup!

During recent months, the campus has been working to make adjustments so that students, staff, and faculty can maintain social distancing. In an effort to provide you physical books during these times, we now have contactless book pickup via our library lockers!

Similar to Amazon package lockers, they can be used to pick-up library books & materials requested via OneSearch.  The lockers are located at the south entrance of the library (Quad side). This allows users to pick-up their books/materials any time. In OneSearch, for a book or item, users select Request and then 24/7 Lockers ; an email will then be sent with instructions how to open the locker (an electronic key code).  Materials will be available from the locker for 3 days after the email is sent.  Please see full details about lockers for more information.

Books: Excellent sources for starting your research

Scholarly books and encyclopedias are great sources when starting your research.

Most of the books in the Pollak Library Catalog are scholarly, that means they can provide an overview of your topic.  Sometimes you only need to read one chapter in the book, but each chapter includes a bibliography which can lead you to additional sources.  Often, the chapter headings in the book can help you focus a large topic, such as No Child Left Behind, into a narrower research focus that can be explored in a smaller paper.

You can find encyclopedias in the Pollak Library Catalog by conducting a keyword search such as:

education AND encyclopedia or "multicultural education" AND encyclopedia

You can find scholarly books on your topic -- complete with useful bibliographies -- by conducting a keyword search in the catalog. Use the same keywords you'd use in any other database.

Scholarly monographs are single-volume works targeting specialized topics, and written for an academic audience. Using the index to navigate through a monograph is an efficient way to target the volume's content.

Remember: If you are enrolled in a distance or online program, the Library will mail any print materials you need to your home.  Please contact the library for more information.

You may also find useful the following selection of eBook resources: 

Sage Journals Online – eBooks, journal articles, reference books covering research methods types and applications

Ebooks on various education topics.

Education Encyclopedias