Skip to Main Content

CMC/LRDC Toolkit: Collection Description & Goals

Resource toolkit to support CMC/LRDC collection at Pollak Library.

CMC/LRDC Collection Description


CMC/LRDCThe Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) and the Learning Resource Display Center (LRDC) at Cal State Fullerton’s Pollak Library offers tons of instructional resources for present and future classroom teachers. The aim of the CMC/LRDC is to support our teacher education programs. We welcome your feedback on how we can enhance the CMC/LRDC to better serve you!

The CMC is comprised of:

  • Curriculum materials including teaching handbooks, activity guides, other practical books geared for classroom teaching. Instructional media including physical items such as videos and DVDs, maps and charts, big books, art study prints, science experiment kits, finger puppets, and math manipulatives.
  •  K-8 textbooks currently adopted by the state of California. Along with textbooks, you will find workbooks, teacher’s guide books, professional development materials, and other instructional materials. Instructional materials may include math manipulatives, kits, big books for read alouds, DVDs and CDS.
  • Children’s and young adult, fiction and non-fiction award-winning books to support the work of future teachers. Our Children's Literature Center (a.k.a. Donoghue Children’s Lit. Ctr.) holds approx. 1000 non-circulating titles of outstanding K-6 fiction and non-fiction literature selected from the Horn Book Magazine.

Collection Goals

To promote robust use of the CMC/LRDC collection by our students, faculty and community members, we outline the following goals:

ACQUISITIONS

  • The CMC/LRDC supports teacher prep course assignments by providing a rich collection of children’s and young adult literature, curriculum planning materials, and CA state-adopted programs for K-8 grades.
  • Faculty is regularly consulted to identify gaps in the collection. Professional selection resources for juvenile literature, with attention to specific subject areas requested by the faculty (e.g. multicultural picture books, literature to support special needs readers, Common Core non-fiction, etc.) are consulted.
  • ACRL's Guidelines for Curriculum Materials serve as a best-practices resource for the collection’s management.

ACCESS

  • Provide library instruction to support course assignments and teacher education student projects.
  • Increase use of the CMC/LRDC by aligning material acquisitions to course assignments.
  • Organize materials to facilitate location and access, with attention to instructional media kits.
  • Communicate CMC/LRDC collection guidelines and new materials acquisitions with faculty to encourage use of the collection.

COLLABORATIONS

  • Strengthen collaboration among faculty, students, and community groups to encourage use of the CMC/LRDC, and develop student projects.
  • Use Children’s and YA Literature exhibit space to showcase collaborative projects and promote collection.

 

Workflow for displaying newly adopted textbooks

The Learning Resources Display Center (LRDC) is on the 4th floor of Pollak Library North.  Our LRDC is part of a statewide program that provides educators, students and the public access to instructional materials for K-8 that have been adopted or are being considered for adoption by the state of California.

These materials include things such as textbooks, teacher's guides, big books, bilingual editions of texts, science experiment kits, and DVDs.

The Pollak Library's LRDC contains adopted materials only. If you would like to see a complete set of all materials being considered for adoption, you can find an LRDC near you by visiting http://www.cde.ca.gov/CI/cr/cf/lrdc.asp

Our Library also retains many materials from the previous adoption and moves them to the Text collection which is located right next to the LRDC.

The Text collection also contains any textbooks we may have for grades 9-12.  

Anyone can look at materials in the LRDC without an appointment. Materials in the LRDC may be borrowed by patrons with a library card. 

Loan Period Students: 3 weeks; one renewal; can be recalled

Loan Period Faculty: 3 weeks; one renewal; can be recalled; special arrangements available

Materials in the LRDC can be found in the Pollak Library Catalog by searching for the title of the textbook or the publisher's name and limiting to Curriculum Materials & Juvenile only.

These items are minimally cataloged so student workbooks, instructional media such as kits, and other materials will only show up as supplements in the catalog.  If you would like to know if we have received a specific item and you don't see it in the catalog, view the "Received" tabs in this guide. 

collection workflow