Skip to main content

Psychology: PSYC 510

Subject Guide for Psychology

Journal Articles

APA PsycInfo Methodology Field Values

APA PsycInfo allows you to limit your search to a specific methodology or set of methodologies.  One methodology field in APA PsycInfo offers you the opportunity to search specifically for empirical studies.

 

Related Links:

Direct Link to Methodology Field Values Document (American Psychological Association PDF)


Sample Search Using Methodology Field Values (American Psychological Association tutorial)

EBSCO Support Resource: PsycINFO

The American Psychological Association (APA) offers a Quick Reference Guide for searching PsycINFO via EBSCO.

 

 

EBSCO Help - Proximity Searching

The following information is taken directly from the EBSCOhost Help database.

Proximity Searches

You can use a proximity search to search for two or more words that occur within a specified number of words (or fewer) of each other in the databases. Proximity searching is used with a Keyword or Boolean search.

The proximity operators are composed of a letter (N or W) and a number (to specify the number of words). The proximity operator is placed between the words that are to be searched, as follows:

Near Operator (N)N5 finds the words if they are within five words of one another regardless of the order in which they appear.

For example, type tax N5 reform to find results that would match tax reform as well as reform of income tax.

Within Operator (W) - In the following example, W8 finds the words if they are within eight words of one another and in the order in which you entered them.

For example, type tax W8 reform to find results that would match tax reform but would not match reform of income tax.

In addition, multiple terms can be used on either side of the operator. See the following examples:

  • (baseball or football or basketball) N5 (teams or players)
  • oil W3 (disaster OR clean-up OR contamination)

EBSCO Help - Wildcard & Truncation Searching

The following information is taken directly from the EBSCOhost Help database.

Wildcard and Truncation Symbols

Use the wildcard and truncation symbols to create searches where there are unknown characters, multiple spellings or various endings. Neither the wildcard nor the truncation symbol can be used as the first character in a search term.
 

 

Wildcards

The wildcard is represented by a question mark ? or a pound sign #.

To use the ? wildcard, enter your search terms and replace each unknown character with a ?. EBSCOhost finds all citations of that word with the ? replaced by a letter. 

For example, type ne?t to find all citations containing neatnest or next. EBSCOhost does not find net because the wildcard replaces a single character.  

Note: When searching for a title that ends in a question mark, the symbol should be removed from the search in order to ensure results will be returned.

To use the # wildcard, enter your search terms, adding the # in places where an alternate spelling may contain an extra character. EBSCOhost finds all citations of the word that appear with or without the extra character.

For example, type colo#r to find all citations containing color or colour.

Note: Searching the U.S. spelling of words will also include some spelling variations (i.e. colour or odour) but not all spelling variations.

When using the pound/hash (#) wildcard, plurals and possessives of that term are not searched. For example, when running a search for the term colo#r, the terms "colors" and "colours" will not be searched (which they are by default when using the singular "color" or "colour" without a wildcard operator).
 

 

Truncation

Truncation is represented by an asterisk (*). To use truncation, enter the root of a search term and replace the ending with an *. EBSCOhost finds all forms of that word.

For example, type comput* to find the words computer or computing.

Note: The Truncation symbol (*) may also be used between words to match any word.

For example, a midsummer * dream will return results that contain the exact phrase, a midsummer night’s dream.
 

 

Note: Wildcards and Truncation cannot be combined for a term in a search. For example, a search for p#ediatric* would be the same as a search for P*.

Google Scholar Via the Pollak Library

Use Google Scholar to search through thousands of journals, many of which the Pollak Library owns.  You can also find patents and legal documents with Google Scholar.

By using Google Scholar via the Pollak Library, you have access to a special "Pollak Library Find It!" link in order to determine if a particular item of interest is available full-text online, in print, or through interlibrary loan.

If you experience a challenge with connecting to Google Scholar from off campus, the information on this page offers one way to configure Google Scholar so that it connects with resources available through the Pollak Library.

SSCI

Social Sciences Citation Index

Web of Science Cited Reference Search

Statistics From the Internet

Internet Searching

Please read the information below to learn how you can construct a search of government Web sites in Google for information on your research topic.

Did You Know?
You can search for government Web sites in Google by typing: site:.gov [skipping a space and then entering your search term(s)]

To search education Web sites, please type:  site:.edu [skipping a space and then entering your search term(s)]

For a search of organization Web sites, please type:  site:.org [skipping a space and then entering your search term(s)]

Additional Tip
If needed, please try searches using different keywords, as well as placing your keywords in a different order. Also, if you are searching for a specific phrase, you may wish to place quotation marks around the phrase in order to find the phrase words together.

As always, please take the time to evaluate your sources.

Sample Keywords for Statistics

As you look for statistical information, some keywords you may want to include in different searches are:

statisticdata, prevalence, incidence, survey, rate, demographic, population, characteristic, trend, sample

Sample Search Strategies for Statistics

The following sample searches are for statistics related to childhood obesity from government Web sites. Please remember the option to search organization and education Web sites as well.

In addition, please remember to use different search terms and to try different searches as needed in order to find helpful information for your assignment. In cases where the statistics are not recent, please note the source providing the statistics and search for the Web site of that source (e.g., a government agency) so that you may continue your research on that Web site for more recent data.

As always, please take the time to evaluate your sources.

Sample Search #1

site:.gov "childhood obesity" data

Sample Search #2

site:.gov children "healthy eating" survey

Sample Search #3

site:.gov "obesity in children" statistics California

Additional Citation Resources

What is EndNote Web?

EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliographic management software that enables you to collect and manage references to books, articles, and many other types of materials. Since it is Web-based, all CSUF students and employees may access EndNote Web on-campus or off-campus through the campus portal.  The related link below offers direct access to the EndNote Web login page available through the Pollak Library.

EndNote Web can help you:

  • Import references from library databases.
  • Organize references in groups for access and use at any time
  • Create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles, including APA and MLA.

The Pollak Library also offers an EndNote Web guide with additional information, including sample instructions for exporting citations and creating bibliographies.


Related Link:

EndNote Web Login

PLEASE NOTE:  For first-time users who wish to create an EndNote Web account, please feel free to use this alternate link if the registration process cannot be completed using the link directly above.

EndNote Web Basics

This section highlights essential features available in EndNote Web.

 

EndNote Web: “My References” Tab

The “My References” tab provides you with information on the total number of references in your EndNote Web account. You also have access to the special groups you have created to store specific references in your account.

Please note the link to the “[Unfiled]” group, which is where items exported directly from certain databases are sent (e.g., EBSCOhost databases such as Academic Search Premier and ProQuest databases such as Social Services Abstracts). When items are sent directly to the “[Unfiled]” group, please remember to take those items and put them in a group you already have created or take the time to create a new group where these items may be kept for future access.

 

EndNote Web: Importing References

The “Import References” feature under the “Collect” tab is helpful for those databases which do not allow the direct export of items to EndNote Web.In these cases, you first will be required to download a file from the database where you found your item(s).

After you have downloaded the file, three steps must be completed using the “Import References” feature. First, you will browse for the downloaded file on your computer (e.g., on your computer desktop). Second, you will select the appropriate import filter. Third, you will have the option to select an existing group in your EndNote Web account in which to store the item(s) in your file, or you may create a new group for the item(s).

 

EndNote Web: Managing Groups / Creating Bibliographies

The “Manage My Groups” feature under the “Organize” tab allows you to create a new group in which to store your references. You also have access to other management features, such as sharing, renaming, or deleting groups.

The “Bibliography” feature under the “Format” tab allows you to select the group containing the references you wish to format. You also have a variety of citation styles that you can use to format your references. Before generating your bibliography, you will select a standard file format. EndNote Web gives you the option to save, e-mail, or preview and print your bibliography.