Recommended Digital Repositories for Finding Your Digital Artifacts
Although there are many digital repositories you can consult and search for digital artifacts for your exhibit narrative, these are two that I use most often because they provide access to digital collections from many different institutions, and both are broad and international in scope.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) is a virtual-only digital archive that brings together digital primary source collections from libraries, archives, and cultural heritage institutions throughout the United States. This allows us to search through the digital collections of many organizations at a single time. Although the contributing institutions are from the U.S., the collections are international in scope.
These digital objects can be downloaded. Some of these collections reside in the public domain, but others are restricted by copyright. Check the Rights Information field on each object's item record to confirm copyright status. However, use of these collections by students for the class assignment is covered by the legal doctrine of fair use.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository of free images (photos, illustrations, maps, etc.), videos, sounds and other multimedia files. It is run by the same non-profit organization, the Wikimedia Foundation, that runs Wikimedia and is hosted on the same wiki platform. However, while the media files on Wikipedia articles include many works with copyright restrictions, Wikimedia Commons content is free to use. Wikimedia Commons only includes Creative Commons licensed, GNU Free Documentation licensed, or public domain digital content. Check the Licensing field on each item.
The media available on Wikimedia Commons are contributed by libraries, archives, government agencies, and other cultural heritage organizations around the world, as well as individual creators.
Related Terminology
Artifact: A human-made object – such as photographs, videos, clothing, historical documents, books, etc. – that holds artistic, historical, or cultural significance and is put on display. These can be physical or digital.
Collections: These are organized groups of artifacts.
Repository: A physical or digital space to store objects of value, such as print or digital photographs.
Library: A type of physical or digital repository that acquires and provides access to collections for people to read, watch, listen to, and usually borrow.
Archive: A type of physical or digital repository that acquires collections for the primary purpose of preserving them, and secondary purpose of providing access to researchers.
Exhibit: A display of artifacts focused on a particular theme, which is selected, arranged, and presented in an intentional way to tell a story.