Skip to Main Content

Titans Remember: A COVID-19 Community Archive: Home

                                

Titans Remember, organized by Pollak Library's University Archives & Special Collections, is a community archive whose intent is preserve our community’s experiences and responses to this historic event. As the COVID-19 pandemic continues to reshape our lives, we aim to continue documenting the expansive economic, environmental, and social sea changes that have swept the world along with the virus.

By using your words, photos, videos, art, music, and/or any medium in your preferred language to contribute a story about your life during covid-19 to this research archive you can help document this historic era. . Your narratives, poems, songs and digital or physical creations are all welcomed. Together we will create a unique repository of lived experience in Orange County that tomorrow’s researchers will be able to consult to learn about one of the most historically significant moments in modern human history. Your submission can remain anonymous.

Here are some suggested prompts to get you thinking about your personal narrative, no matter what form it takes:

Students:

  • What challenges have you faced learning in an all-online environment?
  • Have you experienced food, housing, or job insecurities?
  • Are you juggling family and caretaking responsibilities with school?
  • How would you rate CSUF’s response to the pandemic?
  • What do you miss about campus life?
  • Were you forced to leave the dorms? What did you do?
  • Are you one of the students remaining on campus? What has that been like?
  • Are you an Imperial Valley student? Have you felt supported? How has this impacted your community?
  • If you’re an international student, how did this impact your studies? Were you able to return to your home country/family?
  • Were you in a study abroad program? How did the pandemic unfold in the country where you were studying? Did you have a hard time getting home?

Faculty, staff and administrators:

  • If working remotely, what has working at home been like?
  • If working on campus, what has that been like?
  • Are you at the Fullerton campus? How has the pandemic affected your work? Your community?
  • Are you juggling family and caretaking responsibilities with work?
  • How are you communicating with colleagues and students?
  • What changes have you had to make to your teaching? 
  • What challenges have you faced in this online environment?
  • Have you had to adjust your teaching philosophy?

Alumni:

  • How would you rate CSUF’s response to the pandemic?
  • Have you felt disconnected from the campus community? What have you missed the most?
  • How might this compare or contrast to your own college experience? 

Everyone:

  • How has the COVID-19 pandemic affected you, your family or your community?
  • What challenges have you encountered?
  • How are you coping with social distancing?
  • How has your daily life changed?
  • How is your community responding to the crisis?
  • Have you experienced any major milestones or life events since the start of the pandemic (birthdays, weddings, funerals, graduations, etc)?

Whether or not you choose to submit your reflections to Titans Remember, creative expression such as writing, can be personally helpful and a good coping mechanism worth trying. Should engaging in the writing exercises bring up personal distress, it is recommended to contact CSUF's Counseling and Psychological Services and schedule a meeting with a mental health counselor.

Contribute to the archive

To contribute to Titans Remember: A COVID-19 Community Archive, please fill out the submission form. You will be asked to upload files through the form.

You can participate in the co-creation of the collection by submitting any or all of the following:

  • Journals, zines, diaries, scrapbooks
  • Drawings, paintings, poetry, music
  • Blog posts
  • Social media posts
  • Photographs
  • Audio recordings
  • Video recordings
  • Any other written or recorded statements reflecting your experiences
  • Any other digital media that illustrates the effect of the pandemic on your academic, social, family, and extracurricular life

Submissions may be in the form of digital photographs, text files, pdfs, spreadsheets, presentations, audio files, or video files. You may submit materials as .jpg, .pdf, .doc, .exl, .mp4 .wav or as.zip files. Long audio and video files may be submitted as .zip files, at a maximum length of 1 hour. The site cannot capture webpages, however, they can be submitted in .pdf format. Attach documents in the section titled "Please add your files here. You may upload up to ten files at a time". The site is configured for a Google account. If you do not have a Google account, please contact us at uasc@fullerton.libanswers.com for assistance.

We are now accepting physical materials to the archive. Please fill out the online submission form indicating an intent to donate and we will follow-up with you with an appointment day and time. Your contributions will become part of CSUF's Archives and will be available for access by the public.

There is no deadline for submissions. We hope to continue collecting materials for the foreseeable future.

Submit

All submissions will receive a receipt.

Titans Remember Exhibit curated by Trish Campbell

Contact

UASC logo Paulina June and George Pollak Library
Pollak Library South, Room 352
Email: uasc@fullerton.libanswers.com
Phone: (657) 278-4751

45 CFR 46.102(l)(1) deems activities such as these as not being research and thus not applicable to IRB approval. "For purposes of this part, the following activities are deemed not to be research: (1) Scholarly and journalistic activities (e.g., oral history, journalism, biography, literary criticism, legal research, and historical scholarship), including the collection and use of information, that focus directly on the specific individuals about whom the information is collected."