What does that orange magnifying glass icon mean?Useful Databases for Queer Studies Research
Research Tip: Each of these databases contains thousands of articles, so using a more specific search phrase can help you get a manageable number of results. For example:
- peer mentorship AND transgender students AND academic success
If you are having trouble accessing an article in our database that is labeled as full text available, try clearing your browser history and cache.
-
Academic Search Premier
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research. -
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowThis EBSCO database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. CLIO Notes provides chronologies and hundreds of brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window Need to find full text newspaper, magazine, reports, and journal articles relating to the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, arts, literature, health sciences, political science, sociology and much more? Try GenderWatch!
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociological database that leads to journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings and more.
-
US Newsstream This link opens in a new windowProvides access to many major U.S. and international newspapers, including local titles (LA Times, Orange County Register) and national titles.
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowIndexes women's studies and feminist-related journals, newspapers, newsletters, books and reports in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Open Access Journals
Below are a list of internationally published Open Access journals that are free to read, download, and share.
Open Access journal articles are available to readers around the world immediately and for free. This provides researchers who are traditionally marginalized from the scholarly community (scholars of color, scholars from countries in the Global South) with access to new research and data that can otherwise only be found through costly subscriptions to publisher content.
-
UnpaywallUnpaywall can help you locate open access versions of articles! Just install their browser extension and it will automatically search for open access options.
-
Analize: Journal of Gender and Feminist StudiesPublished by the Romanian Society for Feminist Analyses (AnA), Romania- articles in English
-
Gender a Výzkum / Gender and ResearchPublished by the Department of Gender & Sociology, Institute of Sociology of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic- articles in Czech and English
-
Gender ForumPublished by the University of Cologne, Germany- articles in English
-
Interalia: A Journal of Queer StudiesPublished by Ośrodek Studiów Amerykańskich Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego in Poland. Accepts manuscripts in Polish, English, Spanish.
-
Lamda NordicaSupported by Torsten Amundsons Fond and the Swedish Research Council. Articles in English and Swedish.
-
Open Gender JournalPublished by the Society for Gender Studies, the Margherita von Brentano Center for Gender Studies at the Free University of Berlin, the central academic institution GeStiK Gender Studies in Cologne at the University of Cologne, the Center for Transdisciplinary Gender Studies at the Humboldt University in Berlin and the Gender research department at the University of Vienna- articles in English, German
-
Queer Cats: A Journal of LGBTQ StudiesPublished by the Lesbian, Gay Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies Program at UCLA, Queer Cats publishes peer-- and editorial- - reviewed interdisciplinary LGBTQ research along with the proceedings of our annual QGrad (queer graduate student) conference.
-
Whatever: A Transdisciplinary Journal of Queer Theories and StudiesPublished by Università di Pisa in Italy- articles are in English, French, German, Italian and Spanish.