What is evidence-based nursing?
Evidence-based nursing (EBN) is an approach to decision-making and providing nursing care based upon current relevant research as well as personal clinical expertise. The goal of evidence-based nursing is to improve the health and care of patients in a cost-effective manner, improving the outcomes for both patient and healthcare system.
Recent articles about or using evidence-based practice
This is a list of recently published nursing articles that apply or discuss evidence-based nursing.
-
Enhancing Evidence-Based Practice Implementation in Acute Care: A Qualitative Case Study of Nurses' Roles, Interprofessional Collaboration, and Professional Development.This link opens in a new window Nov 30, 2025Canadian Journal of Nursing Research; 12/01/2025
(AN 189133802); ISSN: 08445621
CINAHL Plus with Full Text -
Re‐evaluating Evidence‐Based Practices in Central Venous Catheter Maintenance in ICU Nurses...Zhou TC, Li Z, Wang M, et al. “Evidence- Based Practice in Maintenance of Central Venous Catheters Among Intensive Care Unit Nurses: A Cross-Sectional Multi- Center Study.” Journal of Clinical Nursing. 20225;34(10):4351-4365This link opens in a new window Nov 30, 2025Journal of Clinical Nursing (John Wiley & Sons, Inc.); 12/01/2025
(AN 189064012); ISSN: 09621067
CINAHL Plus with Full Text -
Development and implementation of a Sezer gastrostomy care bundle using the Knowledge to Action framework.This link opens in a new window Nov 30, 2025Nutrition in Clinical Practice; 12/01/2025
(AN 189132291); ISSN: 08845336
CINAHL Plus with Full Text -
The Current EBP Landscape.This link opens in a new window Oct 31, 2025AJN American Journal of Nursing; 11/01/2025
(AN 188854614); ISSN: 0002936X
CINAHL Plus with Full Text -
A Guided Introduction to the Fifth Edition of the Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model.This link opens in a new window Oct 31, 2025AJN American Journal of Nursing; 11/01/2025
(AN 188854638); ISSN: 0002936X
CINAHL Plus with Full Text -
Navigating the Johns Hopkins EBP Model, Fifth Edition: Practice Question Phase.This link opens in a new window Oct 31, 2025AJN American Journal of Nursing; 11/01/2025
(AN 188854639); ISSN: 0002936X
CINAHL Plus with Full Text -
Navigating the Johns Hopkins EBP Model, Fifth Edition: Evidence Phase.This link opens in a new window Oct 31, 2025AJN American Journal of Nursing; 11/01/2025
(AN 188854640); ISSN: 0002936X
CINAHL Plus with Full Text -
Navigating the Johns Hopkins EBP Model, Fifth Edition: Translation Phase.This link opens in a new window Oct 31, 2025AJN American Journal of Nursing; 11/01/2025
(AN 188854641); ISSN: 0002936X
CINAHL Plus with Full Text -
Navigating the Johns Hopkins EBP Model, Fifth Edition: Ongoing Considerations.This link opens in a new window Oct 31, 2025AJN American Journal of Nursing; 11/01/2025
(AN 188854642); ISSN: 0002936X
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Evidence-based Nursing Books
This is a sample of some recent e-books on evidence-based nursing. These should all be accessible electronically.
Use the library catalog to find additional titles.
-
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing
by
The new edition of this highly successful book brings to its readership the fundamentals of evidence-based nursing practice in an easily digested format. Avoiding unnecessary jargon and using case studies and other practical examples to help demystify research and the process of applying research in clinical practice, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, 4th edition, will be essential reading for anyone interested in developing their skills in this area. Now published in full color throughout, and with accompanying online exercises, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, 4th edition, explains how to ask the right question, search the literature, evaluate - and safely apply - evidence from qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods studies including systematic reviews. The book also explains how to use evidence-based guidelines and use research evidence in making clinical decisions with individual patients. A concluding chapter explores the challenges of embedding an evidence-based culture within a healthcare institution. Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, 4th edition, will be ideal for all students on nursing programs undertaking relevant research and evidence based practice modules, nurses undertaking post-graduate study, and anyone returning to practice who needs to understand how evidence-based practice is shaping practice today. The book will also be invaluable to students of midwifery and other healthcare professions involved in similar areas of study. Helps students learn to read and understand research results as a foundation for evidence-based practice Easy writing style makes a potentially difficult subject accessible and enjoyable Explains how to search the literature and rank it according to the strength of its evidence Case studies, scenarios and exercises 'bring the subject to life' Clearly explains the process of critical appraisal - quality of the study, interpretation of the results, and applicability of the findings to individual patients Explains the various means of applying data from population studies to the individual Offers practical advice on how to communicate risks and benefits to patients Contains a glossary of useful terms New editorship brings an international dimension to the content Includes a new chapter on mixed methods studies Expanded discussion of the evaluation of qualitative systematic reviews Updated information on the implementation of guidelines and the current role of evidence in healthcare organisational policy Now published in full colour throughout
Call Number: RT51 .E85 2020ISBN: 9780702070488Publication Date: 2019-11-04 -
Empirical Nursing
by
This book seeks to provide students and practicing nurses with the tools to better understand and engage in scientific arguments to support quality nursing and evidence-based practice. The nature of nursing and its relationship with science remains an area of ongoing debate, controversy and considerable confusion to both students and practitioners. For a science-based health discipline, it is something of a paradox that most nursing students have limited exposure to scientific philosophy education, which is not covered in depth in many modern university nursing programmes. This work seeks to remedy this: in providing material on modern scientific research methods, with particular emphasis on the context of practice, it presents an alternative theoretical iteration of holistic nursing as scientific inquiry. The author is a passionate advocate for empirical and pragmatic approaches to nursing, and the book provides challenging ideas to support a new wave of critical-thinking in contemporary nursing, confronting postmodern dogma with contemporary scientific critique. In doing so, this text engages readers with the art of progressive empirical client-centred care, appropriate for the development of 21st century holistic nursing practice.
ISBN: 9781787438132Publication Date: 2018-10-26 -
Making Sense of Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing
by
This straightforward guide to evidence-based practice helps you to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to challenge practice that is not underpinned by research and to increase your understanding of the processes involved in accessing, appraising, and synthesizing good quality research. Providing a basic introduction to both quantitative and qualitative research, Debra Evans explores how to find out "what works best", the impact of something, and what requires more research. Readers will also learn the basic rules used in study design and statistics presented in research articles and systematic reviews. Each simply written chapter includes relevant theory, diagrams and tables, case studies, exercises, boxed summaries, and further reading. Packed with examples from practice across the nursing fields and at different levels, this book is essential for nurses - both student and qualified - who want to increase their confidence when it comes to research appraisal and evidence-based practice processes.
ISBN: 9781003156017Publication Date: 2022-09-30 -
The PEACE Model Evidence-Based Practice Guide for Clinical Nurses
by
Nurses are in charge of the patients and their families throughout the hospital and health system experience. They assist patients through illness to achieve higher levels of health. They coordinate the care throughout the patients' experiences with the healthcare system. Nurses are the leaders of patient care at the bedside and beyond. It is important that as clinical leaders, nurses have the most accurate, most up-to-date, and evidence-based information available so that they can always do the right thing. The PEACE model develops clinical nurses as leaders in care of both patients and their families. Clinical nurses, those at the point of care, have embraced this model for guiding their practice. The PEACE model helps clinical nurses solve challenging problems through a rigorous evidence-based practice process-from problem identification to evaluation and dissemination. The crux of the PEACE model is the mnemonic that simplifies the evidence-based practice (EBP) process for clinical nurses. The PEACE model is used across NewYork-Presbyterian (NYP), one of the nation's most comprehensive academic healthcare delivery systems. NYP is composed of 10 hospitals in New York and employs more than 11,000 nurses across the enterprise. One striking advantage of the model is that it emerged from the work of clinical nurses who were struggling to find a way to remember and apply the components of other EBP models. Clinical nurses have indicated that the components of the PEACE model make the model memorable and useful: P for problem identification E for evidence review A for appraising the evidence C for changing practice or conducting research E for evaluating and disseminating the findings The last stage of the PEACE model is particularly important to advancing nursing practice across institutions. We have found that unless the model results are disseminated through scholarly presentations and publications, the clinical challenges continue to be present across sites and institutions. We emphasize this phase and conduct publication workshops to help clinical nurses shape the dissemination of their EBP work. Nurses' active participation in EBP and research is critical to improving the care we provide to patients and furthering nursing science. It is important to note that the design of the PEACE model intentionally linked EBP, quality improvement (QI), and research. The mnemonic PEACE promotes understanding and application by clinical nurses, providing a way to easily remember the EBP component stages. The uniqueness of the PEACE model is its simplicity. This relevance leads to continued application in day-to-day nursing practice. As we strive for peace at many levels of our lives and work, the mnemonic is easy to remember. The PEACE model may be adapted to any setting where nurses practice.
ISBN: 1646480104Publication Date: 2021-01-15 -
Implementation Science in Nursing
by
A timely resource that shows faculty, students, and clinicians how to bring about and sustain change, Implementation Science in Nursing: A Framework for Education and Practice provides theoretical information and practical application for evidence-based practice (EBP) in health care. The most challenging but crucial part of EBP is implementation, where the practice change is piloted, evaluated, integrated, and sustained. Implementation Science in Nursing: A Framework for Education and Practice focuses on the implementation process, which is the study of methods and strategies that promote the methodical uptake of research findings and EBPs into routine practices to ultimately improve patient care, quality, safety, and outcomes. Drs. Linda A. Roussel and Patricia L. Thomas have combined both didactic teaching methods with real-life exemplars in the text to help readers learn the elements of implementation science and its application. Other important features include: * Excellent exemplars and sample assignments for educators * In-depth discussions on implementation science theories, models, and frameworks applied to real-life scenarios * Thorough explanations of evidence-based practice (EBP), quality improvement (QI) implementation science (IS), and dissemination science (DS) * The latest literature and thinking on implementation science With Implementation Science in Nursing: A Framework for Education and Practice, nursing professionals and students in Doctor of Nursing Practice programs will learn the tools, techniques, and strategies used to advance quality initiatives and improve patient and population health.
ISBN: 9781630917388Publication Date: 2022-02-15 -
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing
by
Second Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence." The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Third Edition: Updated with current information on research methods and new resources"Finding the Evidence" chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search enginesIncludes two new chapters, "The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care" and "Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program"Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nursesIncorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format Key Features: Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practiceIncludes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practiceIncludes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of contentReviews basic terms and principlesPresents quantitative and qualitative research approachesHas been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats
ISBN: 9780826166234Publication Date: 2019-06-01 -
Data for Nurses
by
Data for Nurses: Understanding and Using Data to Optimize Care Delivery in Hospitals and Health Systems provides information for nurses on how to work with data to effectively evaluate and improve care delivery for patients. Quality, benchmarking, and research data are increasingly used to guide care in hospitals and health systems, and nurses are expected to actively use this information to identify interventions to optimize outcomes and meet reporting and financial targets. However, not all nurses receive formal training on data utilization, making interpretation and application of the different types of data difficult. This book provides information on topics such as benchmarking and reportable indicators, financial metrics, quality improvement, research, and implementation science, with applications to nursing practice. Important information on protective measures to guarantee integrity and security of personal patient data is also included. The book is a valuable resource for nurses and other healthcare professionals who require a basic understanding of key principles of data utilization in order to increase engagement in evidence-based practices, quality improvement, and mandatory reporting of key indices. Explains the differences between research data and quality improvement data Provides examples of project design, data usage, data storage and data dissemination Presents tables and figures that highlight mandatory reporting and how to correctly interpret and track information when making decisions about care delivery
ISBN: 9780128172780Publication Date: 2019-11-05 -
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice
by
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Third Edition promotes a comprehensive understanding of statistics in all aspects of clinical practice and health care settings. This text has been thoughtfully designed to meet the learning needs of practicing nurses and advanced practice nursing students to help them engage in evidence-based practice. Praised for its readability, the Third Edition teaches students to interpret and evaluate statistical findings in practice. The Third Edition is written with clarity and accessibility in mind, helping drive student comprehension of statistics. Expanded datasets allow for learners to take on more complex practice problems, readying them for real-world application. In addition to featuring the latest SPSS procedures, the new edition presents further instruction using Excel. Readers will appreciate updated case studies, the inclusion of evidence-based practice applications of statistics, and critical thinking questions. New to the Third Edition:- New evidence-based case studies reflect current practices and issues in nursing- New critical thinking questions and self-quizzes reinforce key concepts- Complex datasets simulate working with large populations- Updated screenshots from SPSS and Excel procedures
ISBN: 9781284194678Publication Date: 2020-12-23 -
The Intersection
by
The Intersection: Where Evidence Based Nursing and Information Literacy Meet describes how the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Framework and Information literacy Competency Standards for Nursing mesh with nursing essentials, thus speaking to the information needs of nurses, nurse educators, and librarians who support worldwide nursing programs. In order to find the best evidence from studies, students and practicing nurses must be proficient in the entire range of information literacy skills. Though the references for this document are from U.S. organizations, they are applicable to nursing audiences across the globe.
ISBN: 9780081012826Publication Date: 2018-01-04
