LibGuides: Engineering &amp; Computer Science: Articles

Scientific Information

Major Journals

See IEEE Xplore for IEEE journals (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers).

Some journals:

Aircraft Engineering and Aerospace Technology

A leading journal in the field of aerospace engineering.

Cement and Concrete Composites

A journal providing scholarly research on the latest advances in technology used in construction materials.

Chemical Engineering Science

Provides reports on original research and experiments in chemical engineering and related fields.

Engineering Structures

Provides research papers on structural engineering in general and the effects of wind, oceans, and earthquakes in particular.

Journal of Hazardous Materials

This journal specializes in case studies and review articles about the risks and dangers of certain materials.

more...

Journal of Hydrology

An interdisciplinary journal that provides original research on all aspects of hydrological sciences.

more...

Journal of Engineering Mechanics

This journal presents original research on solid, structural and fluid mechanics.

Journal of Materials Processing Technology

Provides research on advances in the equipment, techniques and materials used in industry.

NDT&E International

Provides original research papers on nondestructive testing and evaluation, particularly in industrial settings.

IEEE Information

IEEE Websites, Standards, Societies, etc.

IEEE Videos and other things

IEEE vs. IET

Boolean Operators | Database Tips

Boolean Search Example

Boolean Search Example 1

Boolean Search Example 2

Boolean Search Example 3

Boolean Search Example 4

General Science Databases

CiteSeerX
Indexes freely available literature using Autonomous Citation Indexing to create a citation index. Also provides access to technical reports, conference papers, articles, books, and book chapters.
TRID
Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. Provides access > million records of transportation research worldwide.

SciTech Connect
Provides the contents of the DOE Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. Contains >2.5 million citations (1.4 million journal articles, > 313,000 full-text DOE reports.

Engineering Village (Compendex)

Engineering Village (Guide)

Engineering Village (Standards)

Engineering Village (Field Codes)

Engineering Village (Content)

Engineering Village (Numerical data)

Technical Report Writing

Information on writing technical reports (Vidoli/NSA)
Writing engineering reports (Purdue Online Writing Lab)

Major Databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Subjects covered include aerospace, biomedical technology, computer science, computing and control technology, consumer and industrial electronics, electrical and electronics engineering, information systems, power, robotics, telecommunications. To limit search to full text available to Pollak Library, select 'Search subscribed full-text content only' under the Publications heading on the IEEE search page.
EiVillage Compendex Compendex is an abstracting and indexing database, comprising coverage of >28M records of highly curated, globally published, scientific content, focused primarily on applied engineering research, literature and technical information. It supports in-depth search and discovery of both engineering-specific and engineering-related content primarily in the physical sciences, while also addressing increasing interdisciplinarity in engineering (including the computer sciences), and physical science domains overall.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window Database accessible via ACM. A collection of journals, magazines and conference proceedings relating to computing, software, hardware, computational theory, AI, information science, human-computer interaction and instruction al technology.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. From researchers pursuing scientific breakthroughs to academic institutions and government agencies evaluating research, Scopus is the abstract and indexing database of choice.
Academic Search Premier General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window MathSciNet is a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. MathSciNet includes Mathematical Reviews (1940 to present) and citations from approximately 450 journals (1800 to present).
ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive business database via ProQuest that includes book reviews, dissertations, newspapers, magazines, reference/reports, scholarly journals, and trade publications. It features over 4,000 journals and offers access to more than 2,900 full-text titles spanning business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information. This database includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry.
PubMed This link opens in a new window A comprehensive index to biomedical and life sciences journals with citations to over 18 million articles back to 1948. Note: To limit to full-text articles, search PUBMED CENTRAL.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. If you have problems connecting, go to the main Google Scholar page (https://scholar.google.com/) where you will find a link to Settings. Once you click on it, you'll be taken to a page with "Library Links" on the left side. Search for Fullerton or "California State University Fullerton" and once you check the box next to "California State University Fullerton - Pollak Library FindIt!" you'll see the links appear. Note - if we have it electronically, a link will appear on the right. If we have it in print, you'll have to click on "More" under the article to get the FindIt! link.

Technical Reports

DTIC's Technical Report Database
Includes unclassified, unlimited technical report citations.
FIREDOC
Publications in the Fire Research Information Service at NIST's Building & Fire Research Laboratory (BFRL)

NASA Technical Reports Server
Access to NASA's current and historical aerospace research and engineering data.
National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) Reports
UK archive of digitized NACA Reports
NATO STO Scientific Publications
North Atlantic Treaty Organization - Science & Technology Organization - Contains Technical Reports, Conference Proceedings, Meeting Proceedings, Education Notes, Memoranda, and other Report types.

National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
U.S. government reports and other international materials from 1964+.
Science.gov
Contains > 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access federal science information including research
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library
Access to U.S. government technical reports digitized by TRAIL

LANL's Los Alamos Publications Webpage
Access to selected LANL publications
NTRL: National Technical Reports Library)
Over 800,000 full-text technical reports
Various Reports from CalTech
Soil Mechanics Laboratory Reports

Army Research Laboratory
Unclassified, full-text from 1999
Contrails
Technical literature from aerospace research. (Contains reports from the Wright Air Development Center)
Caltech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory Reports
Caltech GALCIT Fluid Mechanics Tech Reports
Caltech Research in Solid Mechanics
W. M. Keck Laboratory of Hydraulics and Water Resources Reports

Trade Studies Information

Trade studies examples (Beale & Bonometti)
Introduction to trade studies (Youtube by Saylor Academy)
Trade Studies (Baker & Whalen/NASA)
Trade Studies (AcqNotes)
NOAA Trade-Space Analysis Overview

Engineering & Computer Science: Articles