LibGuides: Engineering &amp; Computer Science: Home

Major Resources

IEEE Xplore Subjects covered include aerospace, biomedical technology, computer science, computing and control technology, consumer and industrial electronics, electrical and electronics engineering, information systems, power, robotics, telecommunications. To limit search to full text available to Pollak Library, select 'Search subscribed full-text content only' under the Publications heading on the IEEE search page.
Compendex (Engineering Village) Compendex is an abstracting and indexing database, comprising coverage of >28M records of highly curated, globally published, scientific content, focused primarily on applied engineering research, literature and technical information. It supports in-depth search and discovery of both engineering-specific and engineering-related content primarily in the physical sciences, while also addressing increasing interdisciplinarity in engineering (including the computer sciences), and physical science domains overall.
ACM Digital Library Database accessible via ACM. A collection of journals, magazines and conference proceedings relating to computing, software, hardware, computational theory, AI, information science, human-computer interaction and instruction al technology.
Scopus Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. From researchers pursuing scientific breakthroughs to academic institutions and government agencies evaluating research, Scopus is the abstract and indexing database of choice.
EBSCOhost - Academic Search Premier General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
ScienceDirect Science Direct provides access to over 2500 scientific scholarly journals in the areas of biochemistry, biological sciences, business and management science, chemistry, clinical medicine, earth sciences, economics, engineering and technology, environmental science, materials science, mathematics and computer science, microbiology and immunology, neurosciences, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, social sciences and more. Many articles are in full-text.
Google Scholar Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
arXiv arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,945,078 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
Dimensions Dimensions is the most comprehensive research grants database which links grants to millions of resulting publications, clinical trials and patents.
Google Scholar Search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all subjects. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
more...less...
For help using Google Scholar,
https://libraryguides.fullerton.edu/google_scholar

IEEE Help

IEEE Helpful Resources

AI Research Discovery Tools

ResearchRabbit A citation-based literature mapping tool, Research Rabbit allows intuitive exploration of related research based on seed papers. It helps in building a network of papers, authors, and topics, offering a visual map of relevant literature. Best Use Case: Building a network of connected research and expanding your literature based on a few starting papers.
Elicit An AI-driven tool that automates parts of the research workflow, particularly literature reviews. Elicit helps you find and summarize relevant papers based on specific research questions, presenting key insights in an easy-to-use format. Best Use Case: Streamlining literature reviews and organizing research insights, especially for answering specific research questions.
Inciteful A tool that enhances literature discovery by creating a visual map of research papers, showing connections based on citations and co-authorship. Inciteful allows researchers to track down relevant literature efficiently. Best Use Case: Discovering new research and understanding the connections between papers in a specific field.
Semantic Scholar A free AI-powered research tool from the Allen Institute for AI, Semantic Scholar enhances scientific literature searches and features the Semantic Reader, which makes articles more accessible by providing contextualized content. Best Use Case: Comprehensive literature searches and reading research articles with contextualized insights.
Open Knowledge Maps It creates a visual overview of research topics, clustering related literature in a subject area. By drawing from resources like PubMed and BASE, it allows users to explore and understand large bodies of information visually. Best Use Case: Navigating and visually exploring the key areas of a research topic.
Connected Papers A unique visual tool that shows the connections between research papers, helping users explore how papers are related based on citations. It’s excellent for identifying foundational or derivative works. Best Use Case: Exploring related work and identifying influential papers within a particular research area.
LitMaps Tracks newly published literature related to a paper or topic, helping researchers stay up-to-date in rapidly advancing fields. Best Use Case: Tracking new research that cites or connects to a key seed paper.
Keenious Analyzes written text to suggest relevant literature, making it easy to find research that aligns with your existing writing or project. Best Use Case: Complementing existing written research by discovering related literature.
SciSpace Offers an AI-powered research assistant that helps users interact with scientific PDFs, summarizing key points and generating accurate citations. Best Use Case: Conducting literature reviews, summarizing PDFs, and generating citations efficiently.

AI research discovery tools are useful for exploratory searches and visualizing topic connections, while academic resources like Scopus are better suited for in-depth research requiring comprehensive data and rigorous peer-reviewed articles.

Laptop/Device Checkout

Students can checkout laptops and other devices from the Center for Equitable Digital Access (Library North 2nd Floor) and the Student Genius Center (Library North 1st Floor)

Open Access Agreements (publish at no cost)

ACM Publications (until Dec. 2025)
ACS Publications (until Dec. 2025)
Cambridge University Press (until Dec. 2025)
Elsevier (until Dec. 2027)
IOPScience (until Dec. 2025)
Oxford University Press (until Dec. 2028)

Useful Links

STEM Librarian

*Robert Tomaszewski

Email Me

Contact:

Pollak Library, PLN-125
rtomaszewski@fullerton.edu

657-278-2976

Subjects: Biological Science, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Geological Sciences, Mathematics, Physics

Study Space Reservation

Study space reservation rooms (Pollak Library North and South)
Study space reservation for smart group study rooms (PLN-111, 112, 113; PLN-211, 212, 213, 214; PLN-311, 312)
Study space reservation for larger rooms (PLN-140, PLS-360, PLN-130).
Study space reservation for the Innovation/Makerspace (PLN-215)

Other areas of interest:
CSUF Startup Incubator

Engineering & Computer Science: Home

Major Resources

IEEE Help

AI Research Discovery Tools

Laptop/Device Checkout

Open Access Agreements (publish at no cost)

Biological Science

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Physics

Mathematics

Engineering & Computer Science

Geological Sciences

Biological Science

Chemistry & Biochemistry

Physics

Mathematics

Engineering & Computer Science

Geological Sciences

Biological Science

Useful Links

STEM Librarian

Study Space Reservation

Web Accessibility