Scholarly Articles - Visiting Scholars - English Faculty Guangxi University - LibGuides at California State University, Fullerton

Education Databases

For a full list of education subject databases click here.

For a full list of databases accessible from the Pollak Library, click here.

Academic Search Premier
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts (and in some cases, full-text) articles, reports, book reviews and government documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to the present
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Available via EBSCO. The American Psychological Associations (APA) notable database for locating abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This resource is the largest of its kind dedicated to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and it also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Material is drawn from over 2,000 periodicals in more than 20 languages.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of controversial topics and results may include sources such as magazine, newspaper or journal articles, government documents, political position papers, public policy statements, legal and legislative materials, pamphlets, statistical data, biographies, court cases, and links websites.

Education Week
Education Week is a national newspaper focusing on K-12 education policy.
Rethinking Schools
Committed to equity and to the vision that public education is central to the creation of a humane, caring, multiracial democracy. While writing for a broad audience, Rethinking Schools emphasizes problems facing urban schools, particularly issues of race.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search through thousands of journals, many of which the Pollak library owns. You can also find patents and legal documents with Scholar

If you are off-campus click on this link to use the library enhanced version of Scholar.

Questions to Ask - Evaluating Research Sources

AUTHORITY:

Who created (author/s) this info? What kind of credentials does the author have, a PhD, Masters degree?

What knowledge or skills does the author have in the area? Is the author an expert in the field?

Is there an “About” tab on the website?

OBJECTIVITY:

Is the info biased? Are balance perspectives presented?

How does sponsorship impact the perspective of the info?

RELIABILITY:

Is the info accurate?

Does the info come from a school, university, business, company site, or government institution?

Visiting Scholars - English Faculty Guangxi University: Scholarly Articles

Education Databases

Google Scholar

Questions to Ask - Evaluating Research Sources

Web Accessibility