Skip to main content

Government Documents: International

United States, California, County/City/Regional, and International

International Governmental Organizations (IGOs)

European Union (EU) : The EU is a unique economic and political partnership between 27 European countries.

European Union Home Page : starting point for information and services provided by the EU. 

International Monetary Fund (IMF) : An organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

International Monetary Fund Home Page : Provides access to IMF Country Information reports, Research, and Data and Statistics.

Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) :   Organization whose mission is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

Economic Surveys :  Periodic reviews of OECD member and non-member countries, providing an analysis of economic developments within the country, key challenges and recommendations for dealing with them. 

World Bank (WB) : An international financial institution that provides loans to developing countries for capital programs.  It's mission is to reduce poverty.

Countries and Regions : World Bank activities by country or region.

World Bank Open Data : Intended to provide users with access to World Bank data. Choose data catalog for a listing of data sources. It provides download access to over 2,000 indicators. Browse by topic, country or indicator (e.g. long-term unemployment, marine protected areas.) Includes access to 14 World Bank databases including Africa Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Global Economic Monitor, World Development Indicators, etc.

World Development Indicators Online : World Bank's annual compilation of data about development.  Data are shown over 200 economies. Includes HDI (Human Development Index), GDP, GNP, and GNI. Offers ountry-by-country comparisons. Full text.

World Trade Organization (WTO) : The WTO is the a global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.

World Trade Organization Home Page : Provides access to WTO news and events, trade topics, membership, and documents and resources.

United Nations

United Nations : Home Page

Dag Hammarskjöld Library : Located in the United Nations building in New York, it is the main depository for UN documents and publications. 

United Nations Research GuideS : Designed for researchers and information professionals with an interest in United Nations documentation. It presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the Organization (e.g, reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases) and gives guidance on how to work with them.

United Nations Directory of Organizations : Provides links to United Nations System and related organizations.

UNcomtrade (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database) :  Provides access to information and data on Internationalall of the data available in

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Science and Cultural Oraganization) :  It's two main priorities are Africa and gender equality, and its principle objectives are: education for all; addressing social and ethical challenges; fostering cultural diversity, intercultural dialogue, and a culture of peace; mobilizing science knowledge and policy for sustainable development; and building knowledge societies through information and communiation.

World Health Organization (WHO) : WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

United States Sources of International Information

Library of Congress :

Country Studies :This series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of selected countries throughout the world.  Not all countries are represented.

Department of State :

Department of State Home Page

Country Fact Sheets :  These reports have replaced the Department of State Background Notes.  They focus on U.S. relations with each country and include links to additional resources.

Get More Help

More Ways to Ask

email message​  libraryanswers@fullerton.edu

chat bubbles 24/7 Live Help
phone receiver 657-278-3284

Google Government Search

google governmentGoogle Government searches federal, state, and local web sites with domains .gov and .mil as well as select government sites with .edu, .us., and .com domains. Google Government is an excellent source for finding statistical information.

Find Career Info