Asian American Studies: Journal Articles

General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.

A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.

This interdisciplinary journal collection provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals. It is particularly strong in the humanities disciplines, such as literature, history, and area studies (Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe), but also has content from the sciences and the social sciences.

This EBSCO database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. CLIO Notes provides chronologies and hundreds of brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.

Available via EBSCO. This database is indexes journal articles, monographs, book chapters, conference proceedings, and anthologies on East, Southeast & South Asia published worldwide. Emphasis is on the Humanities and Social Sciences including Anthropology, Arts, Biography, Communications & Media, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language & Literature, Library & Information Sciences, Philosophy & Religion, Politics & Government, Psychology & Psychiatry, Science & Technology, and Sociology.

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Useful in the fields of history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, education, music & art, law. It indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. For the history of the U.S. and Canada, see 'America: History and Life' database.

A gateway to journal articles in over 500 SAGE publications, with coverage in the disciplines of business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine. This database offers full-text access to numerous SAGE journal titles and includes complete access to the SAGE Full-Text Collections for education and psychology.

Food Studies Online provides archival content, visual ephemera, books, articles, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. It supports interdisciplinary inquiry into the role of food and food systems in shaping culture, economics, business, politics, and the process of globalization. This resource contains primary sources from the National Archives, including government documents, posters, recipes, cookbooks, and marketing pamphlets, as well as access to the Food Ephemera Collection, which contains 5,000 pages of material from the turn of the century through the 1960s on food campaigns. Videos include documentaries, interview series, and vintage commercials. To help discover materials, use the primary search box, or browse by title, subject, publisher, or collection.

Communication Source is the most complete full-text research database for communication studies. It offers hundreds of top communication journals, magazines and other sources covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. From researchers pursuing scientific breakthroughs to academic institutions and government agencies evaluating research, Scopus is the abstract and indexing database of choice.

HeinOnline Academic is a premier legal research platform containing more than 190 million pages and 295,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. Includes 39 separate database collections including: Law Journal Library; American Enterprise Institute; Bremer-Kovacs Collection; Brenan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law; Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment; Civil Rights and Social Justice; Code of Federal Regulations; COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present; Criminal Justice & Criminology; Executive Privilege; Federal Register Library; Foreign Relations of the U.S.; GWO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions; Gun Regulation and Legislation in America; History of International Law; History of Supreme Court Nominations; Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.; John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection; Law Academy Project; Legal Classics; Military and Government; American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy; Open Society Justice Initiative; Pentagon Papers; Religion and the Law; Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies; Slavery in America and the World; U.S. Code; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Congressional Serial Set; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library; U.S. Presidential Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S. Supreme Court Library; U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library; Women and the Law; and World Constitutions Illustrated.

Border and Migration Studies Online provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.

Science Direct provides access to over 2500 scientific scholarly journals in the areas of biochemistry, biological sciences, business and management science, chemistry, clinical medicine, earth sciences, economics, engineering and technology, environmental science, materials science, mathematics and computer science, microbiology and immunology, neurosciences, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, social sciences and more. Many articles are in full-text.

Searches a wide range of social science issues and topics found in scholarly journals.

Sociological database that leads to journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings and more.

A gateway to journal articles in over 500 SAGE publications, with coverage in the disciplines of business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine. This database offers full-text access to numerous SAGE journal titles and includes complete access to the SAGE Full-Text Collections for education and psychology.

The Political Science Database gives users access to over 450 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides the full text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Political Science Database also includes thousands of recent, full-text, political science dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities and other sources such as country reports and policy papers.

Public Affairs Information Service: Political Science, Criminal Justice, and Public Administration and includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, and publications of international agencies.

Abstracts (and in some cases, full-text) articles, reports, book reviews and government documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to the present

International coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks covering the field of Education. Includes journals not covered in ERIC. Abstracts available from 1983, full-text articles available from 1996. SFX enabled; can e-mail, print, or download citations.

Available via EBSCO. The American Psychological Associations (APA) notable database for locating abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. This resource is the largest of its kind dedicated to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and it also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Material is drawn from over 2,000 periodicals in more than 20 languages.

Available via EBSCO. Features access to full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology and contains over 137,000 articles from more than 60 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and allied organizations such as the Canadian Psychological Association. This database includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal.

Criminology database containing international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers. Topics included are crime trends, crime prevention, deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, sentencing and more.

The only fully searchable digital archive, available via Readex platform; covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century, American Race Relations: Global Perspectives is derived from the archives of the Central Intelligence Agency. A wealth of unique primary source documents on racial justice from around the world, it provides new insight into many of the most important historical events and movements of the last hundred years. Covering topics like segregation, race riots, arts and literature, Brown v. Board of Education and other important court cases, the Civil Rights Movement, the Black Panthers, Martin Luther King, Jr. and the rise of indigenous rights in countries around the world, this archive provides unique viewpoints on Americas fight for racial justice and rare insight into race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa and Asia.

Womens Issues and Identities is an archive of primary and secondary sources from across the globe that illuminate history from the female point of view. Notable collections within the archive include: Women and Health/Mental Health, Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Women and the Law and European Womens Periodicals.

Indexes women's studies and feminist-related journals, newspapers, newsletters, books and reports in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

This database available via Gale, brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from a variety of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.

Need to find full text newspaper, magazine, reports, and journal articles relating to the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, arts, literature, health sciences, political science, sociology and much more? Try GenderWatch!

Records include three important womens rights organizations: the National Womans Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Womens Action Alliance. Originally a committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association, the National Womans Party was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and her colleagues broke away from NAWSA. The Womens Action Alliance, established in 1971 as a grass-roots organization, concerned itself with issues such as employment and employment discrimination, childcare, health care, and education. The League of Women Voters collection documents almost every facet of womens involvement in U.S. politics from 1920 to 1974.

Available through June 30, 2025

Provides indexing to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats on all national literatures, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Need to find scholarly articles, book reviews, book chapters, and conference papers on various linguistics and language related subjects? Try LLBA to access articles from over 1,500 journals, as well as summaries of books, book chapters and dissertations!

Available via Gale. This extensive database contains author biographies, overviews of frequently studied literary works, full-text poems, short stories, and plays, literary criticism, web sites, and definitions of literary terms, movements and themes. Can search for authors who share characteristics such as genre, time period, themes, nationality, ethnicity and gender.

Available via Gale. Brings together a range of modern and historical views on authors and their literary works in full-text from scholarly and popular books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. The database incorporates ten of the print Gale Literature Criticism series and makes them searchable by literary author, title of the literary work, and topic. Covers literature from classical to contemporary times.

Available via EBSCO. Art-related topics found in journals and magazine articles, many full text. Coverage includes English and foreign language journals. Can search for specific art reproductions.

Art Index is available via EBSCO with historical coverage of the literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Includes resources from 600+ journals. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, covering 1975-present.

Need to find articles from over 600 journals covering various broad subjects in the humanities including archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, linguistics, philosophy, religion, and world literature? Try this!

Indexes scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Coverage from journal articles, books, book chapters and book reviews from 1940-present. Updated quarterly.

Available via EBSCO. Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This database is an essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities. With coverage dating as far back as 1949, this database contains over one million bibliographic records.

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Useful in the fields of history, multicultural studies, sociology, psychology, women's studies, religion, interdisciplinary studies, anthropology, political science, education, music & art, law. It indexes journal articles, books and dissertations. For the history of the U.S. and Canada, see 'America: History and Life' database.

Formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPAFT). The Performing Arts Periodicals Database is a dynamic resource for the performing arts that provides indexing and abstracts for more than 210 international journals. International index for articles from performing arts journals and magazines. Database includes all aspects for the performing arts from theatre to the entertainment industry. The Performing Arts Periodicals Database is the performing arts section within this database. It can be searched separately or in a combined search with the Music Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index of Music Periodicals Full Text), the music periodicals sections of the database.

Formerly known as International Index of Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP), the Music Periodicals Database is an international music resource which indexes articles from journals and magazine. This database includes all musical genres from classical to popular. The Music Periodicals Database is the music periodicals section within this database. It can be searched separately or in a combined search with the Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly known as the International Index to Performing Arts Full Text), the performing arts periodical section of the database.

Available via EBSCO. Art-related topics found in journals and magazine articles, many full text. Coverage includes English and foreign language journals. Can search for specific art reproductions.

Art resources from journals, books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews covering all forms of modern and contemporary art.

Art Index is available via EBSCO with historical coverage of the literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Includes resources from 600+ journals. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, covering 1975-present.