It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes women's studies and feminist-related journals, newspapers, newsletters, books and reports in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Provides primary and secondary sources for the study of women’s activism and social movements in the United States from colonial times to the present, including the full-text books, documents, articles, bibliographies, and images. Also included are teaching tools with lesson plans, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a Dictionary of Social Movements.
The letters and diaries in this collection were authored by women resident in Great Britain or Ireland between 1700 and 1950. They provide first person accounts of about 500 women from all age groups, ethnicities, and many geographical regions. The materials may be browsed by author, source, year, place, historical events and personal events.
This large collection of digitized letters and diaries was authored by women in the United States (and, to a lesser extent, Canada and Mexico) from colonial times to 1950. The collection sheds light on the role and status of women, attitudes to specific historical and personal events, and the general life and times of various historical periods. It is particularly useful in women’s studies, history, American studies, literature and linguistics. The materials can be explored by browsing by author, source, year, place, personal event (e.g. childbirth), and historical event; they may also be searched in numerous ways, including by author’s nationality, race, religion, occupation, age at marriage, etc.
Need to find full text newspaper, magazine, reports, and journal articles relating to the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, arts, literature, health sciences, political science, sociology and much more? Try GenderWatch!
General database that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.
Covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations. CLIO Notes provides chronologies and hundreds of brief summaries of significant events and themes in American history.
A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references.
Provides access to many major U.S. and international newspapers, including local titles (LA Times, Orange County Register) and national titles.
Interlibrary Loan - ILLiad
If you click on the "Find It' link and we don't have access to the full text of an article in print or electronically, you can request it as an interlibrary loan (ILL) through our service ILLiad.
Using ILLiad is free to you as a student, but does cost the library $20-$30 per transaction, so please use ILLiad judiciously.
You will know ILLiad is required when you click on "Find It" and a message comes up telling you that the library can get the item for you through interlibrary loan. It would be a good idea to set up your ILLiad account before you start your research, just in case you need it. Use your Student Portal information to log in. Once you set up your account, all you will have to do is follow the ILL links to request anything as an interlibrary loan.
ILL articles will be sent electronically as PDFs, and will be delivered to your ILLiad account. When you article has arrived, you will receive an email notification.
CSUF is committed to ensuring equal accessibility to our users. Let us know about any accessibility
problems you encounter using this website.
We'll do our best to improve things and get you the information you need.