Digital Humanities & Digital Scholarship: Geopatial Analysis

Geospatial analysis is a method that pertains to examining data tied to specific geographic points on the earth. This often includes GIS (a Geographic Information System) and digital mapping. Some digital projects combine spatial analysis with temporal analysis.

Following is a directory of geospatial analysis tools and methods taught and supported by the Pollak Library or CSUF. A list of other popular tools is included for your exploration as well.

ArcGIS StoryMaps is a cloud-based digital storytelling platform developed by the geographic information systems (GIS) software company Esri. Create multimedia immersive stories that can incorporate text, images, video, audio, charts, timelines, and interactive digital maps. Bundle multiple narratives together into a collection. The collections feature makes StoryMaps an excellent choice for exhibits too.

• Cost: Freemium (FREE to the CSUF community).
• Technology Learning Curve: Minimal. No coding experience necessary.
• Collaboration Support: Teams and classes can collaborate on stories and collections.
• Methods: Geospatial analysis, temporal analysis, digital exhibits, and digital storytelling.

CSUF Resources

• CSUF faculty, staff, and students have FREE access to the campus institutional premium license.
• Consultations, curriculum development, and classroom instruction available from the Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene.

StoryMapJS is a free cloud-based platform built by the Northwestern University Knight Lab for creating and displaying visually rich multimedia maps. It is build with an easy web editor. A StoryMap can be displayed by itself, or can be embedded into a web page.

• Cost: Free, open source.
• Technology Learning Curve: Minimal. No coding experience necessary.
• Collaboration Support: Teams and classes can collaborate through Google Sheets.
• Methods: Geospatial analysis and digital storytelling.

CSUF Resources

• Consultations, curriculum development, and classroom instruction available from the Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene.

Google Earth Web is the browser-based version of Google Earth, which renders the earth in 3D format and allows you to interact with rich media and geographic data. It is available for free but requires a Google account. This platform is excellent for digital, multimedia, place-based storytelling and presentations.

• Cost: Free (requires a Google account).
• Technology Learning Curve: Minimal. No coding experience necessary.
• Collaboration Support: Does not provide collaboration features.
• Methods: Geospatial analysis and digital storytelling.

CSUF Resources

• Consultations, curriculum development, and classroom instruction available from the Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene.

Google Earth Pro is the desktop version of Google Earth, which renders the earth in 3D format and allows you to interact with geographic data. It is available for free but requires a Google account. This platform is excellent for spatial analysis.

• Cost: Free (requires a Google account).
• Technology Learning Curve: Moderate. Requires installing local software.
• Collaboration Support: Does not provide collaboration features.
• Methods: Geospatial analysis.

CSUF Resources

• Consultations, curriculum development, and classroom instruction available from the Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene.

Google My Maps is a cloud-based platform that allows you to create custom maps using Google Maps. Google My Maps is free but requires a Google account. The platform works on a browser or iOS device and syncs between the two.

• Cost: Free (requires a Google account).
• Technology Learning Curve: Minimal. No coding experience necessary.
• Collaboration Support: Teams and classes can collaborate on maps.
• Methods: Geospatial analysis.

CSUF Resources

• Consultations, curriculum development, and classroom instruction available from the Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene.

CollectionBuilder is a free framework for creating digital collections and exhibits. It is built on metadata generated through Google Sheets and static web technologies. It is designed and maintained by librarians at the University of Idaho and Iowa State University.

• Cost: Free open source.
• Technology Learning Curve: Minimal for the Sheets template version. The other template versions have a steeper learning curve.
• Collaboration: Provides team and class collaboration features.
• Methods: Geospatial analysis, digital collections, and digital exhibits.

CSUF Resources

• Consultations, curriculum development, and classroom instruction available from the Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene.

ArcGIS Online is a cloud-based suite of tools for creating and publishing interactive maps and doing spatial analysis. developed by the geographic information systems (GIS) software company Esri.

• Cost: Free public account, paid subscriptions, institutional licenses (FREE to the CSUF community).
• Technology Learning Curve: Moderate to steep depending on the application, and the complexity of a project.
• Collaboration Support: Teams and classes can collaborate on maps and projects.
• Methods: Geospatial analysis.

CSUF Resources

• CSUF faculty, staff, and students have FREE access to the campus institutional premium license (watch video).
• The CSUF Department of Geography & the Environment integrates GIS and spatial analysis into many of their courses. They also offer an undergraduate GIS Certificate, and an undergraduate Geospatial Technologies Certificate.
• The CSUF University Extension program offers a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) professional development certificate program. All four courses are offered online.
• Consultations with the Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene.

ArcGIS Pro is a locally installed desktop application for creating and publishing interactive maps and doing spatial analysis. developed by the geographic information systems (GIS) software company Esri. It only runs on Windows.

• Cost: Paid individual subscription or institutional license (FREE to the CSUF community).
• Technology Learning Curve: Moderate to steep.
• Methods: Geospatial analysis.

CSUF Resources

• CSUF faculty, staff, and students have FREE access through their ArcGIS Online accounts.
• The CSUF Department of Geography & the Environment integrates GIS and spatial analysis into many of their courses. They also offer an undergraduate GIS Certificate, and an undergraduate Geospatial Technologies Certificate.
• The CSUF University Extension program offers a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) professional development certificate program. All four courses are offered online.
• Consultations with the Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Robledo Greene.