This section of my English 101 instruction guide is for resources specific to students enrolled in sections taught by Professor Jerad Carson, who are working with Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Greene. These resources are in addition to those covered throughout the rest of this guide.
Students will research and write an argumentative essay about an issue on campus or in society where they have to take a stance on that issue and propose a potential solution.
At the end of our instruction session, you will be able to:
Our Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database to use for undergraduate research because it is multi-disciplinary in scope, so it is applicable to almost any academic subject and research topic. And since it’s a Pollak Library database, you can be certain that the sources you will encounter in this database are academic level research sources. This database is particularly useful for:
Covers a wide range of controversial topics and results may include sources such as magazine, newspaper or journal articles, government documents, political position papers, public policy statements, legal and legislative materials, pamphlets, statistical data, biographies, court cases, and links websites.
OneSearch is the Pollak Library's discovery tool that allows you to search many, but not all, of our research databases at the same time. Think of it as a mega database. Because OneSearch indexes and searches across many of our databases, it is an excellent tool to use when starting a new research project.
OneSearch in One Minute (1:01) 
Watch this Pollak Library video to learn how to use OneSearch in just sixty seconds!
Explore the Pollak Library's Citations guide, in particular the two visual Infographic cheat sheets for MLA 9th and 9th editions.
