MLA Style
MLA Handbook
Handbook of the Modern Language Association, 9th edition.
Copies are available at the Main Campus Library Research Center and for limited checkout at Circulation.
MLA Format Video
Additional Resources
- MLA 9th Citation Guide - Pollak LibraryThis overview of MLA gives basic citation format examples and refers to additional resources on full MLA formatting. This is based on the latest and most current edition of the MLA Style Guide.
- MLA 8th Citation Guide - Pollak LibraryFor researchers still using the previous version of MLA, this handout provides basic examples of MLA 8th edition.
Helpful Resources:
Purdue OWL: Easy-to-use citation resource. Provides rules and examples.
MLA Style Center Ask the MLA: Provides answers to FAQs but also lets you ask your own!
In-Text Citations:
Purdue OWL In-Text Basics: Covers basics of in-text citation rules and more.
Works Cited Page/Bibliography:
Purdue OWL MLA Works Cited Page Basics: Covers basics of reference list rules and more.
Citing Artificial Intelligence:
How do I cite generative AI in MLA style?: This guide from the MLA style guide offers guidance on how to cite large language models in MLA
Citing Social Media
MLA Style Center: Social Media: These posts from the MLA style center focus on how to cite various social media posts and comments.
Additional Citation Examples:
University of West Florida Style Guide: Provides additional example citations for the 8th edition.
Ask For Help!
Library Answers
Avoiding Plagiarism
