Skip to Main Content

English 101: Sections for Professor Brody

A resource guide for English 101 library instruction sessions taught by Digital Scholarship Librarian, Colleen Robledo Greene.

Welcome to Professor Brody's students!

This section of my English 101 instruction guide is for resources specific to students enrolled in sections taught by Professor Jaime Brody, who are working with Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Greene. These resources are in addition to those covered throughout the rest of this guide.

Research Assignment

Students will create an annotated bibliography, which will lead to a persuasive argument. They need to find reputable sources and counter arguments, and two of the sources need to be peer-reviewed articles.

Instruction Session Learning Objectives

At the end of our instruction session, you will be able to:

  • Locate this course guide from the library home page
  • Explain how library databases can help you with your research topic
  • Log in to the library website and proxy server with your CSUF credentials
  • Find academic level background information about your research topic using the Gale eBooks and Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints databases
  • Find scholarly and/or full-text online sources for your research assignment using our OneSearch discovery tool
  • Conduct keyword and phrase searches in library databases
  • Locate the library's APA cheat sheet infographics on the Citations guide

Using the CRAAP Criteria to find Reputable Sources

The CRAAP Criteria:

  • Currency
  • Relevance
  • Authority
  • Accuracy
  • Purpose

CRAAP test

Recommended Databases

Our Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database to use for undergraduate research because it is multi-disciplinary in scope, so it is applicable to almost any academic subject and research topic. And since it’s a Pollak Library database, you can be certain that the sources you will encounter in this database are academic level research sources.

Helpful Sections of This Database

This infographic highlights sections of the Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database that can be extremely helpful for your class assignment. This database provides:

  1. nice Wikipedia-like articles that can quickly familiarize you with a new topic, yet the articles in this database are all academic-level sources,
  2. a way to quickly identify sources that provide different points of view on a a particular topic,
  3. references and links to full-text academic journal articles on that topic, and
  4. a quick way to find related terms to use in your additional keyword or phrase searches.

Drawing attention to the four points explained above.

OneSearchOneSearch is the Pollak Library's discovery tool that allows you to search many, but not all, of our research databases at the same time. Think of it as a mega database. Because OneSearch indexes and searches across many of our databases, it is an excellent tool to use when starting a new research project.

Learning Activities

 Pollak Library & OneSearch Tutorial Tutorial icon

Take this interactive tutorial to learn about navigating the Library's homepage and using the OneSearch tool to locate articles, books, and more!

OneSearch in One Minute (1:01) movie icon

Watch this Pollak Library video to learn how to use OneSearch in just sixty seconds!

Finding the Full-Text PDF & Suggested Citation

Following are examples of how to look for the full-text downloadable PDF copy of an article, and where to export the suggested citation.

ProQuest Databases

ProQuest Databases

Sage Journals

Sage Journals database

Science Direct

Science Direct database

MLA Citation Style

Professor Brody's classes use the MLA citation style.

Learning Activities

 MLA Tutorial Tutorial icon

 This tutorial offers an introduction to MLA 9th edition citation style and the resources available for consultation.

 Citations Guide: MLA Tutorial icon

 Explore the Pollak Library's Citations guide, in particular the two visual Infographic cheat sheets for MLA 9th and 9th editions.

Additional Resources