Skip to Main Content

English 101: Sections for Professor Peterson

A resource guide for English 101 library instruction sessions taught by Digital Scholarship Librarian, Colleen Robledo Greene.

Welcome to Professor Peterson's students!

This section of my English 101 instruction guide is for resources specific to students enrolled in sections taught by Professor April Peterson, who are working with Digital Scholarship Librarian Colleen Greene. These resources are in addition to those covered throughout the rest of this guide.

Research Assignment

Students are writing a 5 page Research essay about a cultural competence topic of the students' choice. Students need to use at least 5 database sources to support their arguments. Students can use visual evidence in their essays, so should know how to find charts and graphs in the Pollak Library databases.

Instruction Session Learning Objectives

At the end of our instruction session, you will be able to:

  • Locate this course guide from the library home page
  • Locate the library's MLA cheat sheet infographics on the Citations guide
  • Log in to the library website and proxy server with your CSUF credentials
  • Find academic-level research sources about your research topic using the Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database
  • Find academic-level sources, including scholarly/peer-reviewed sources, using our OneSearch discovery tool
  • Find visual evidence (tables, charts, etc.) in the Opposing Viewpoints and Academic Search Premier databases
  • Conduct keyword and phrase searches in library databases

Recommended Databases

Our Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints database to use for undergraduate research because it is multi-disciplinary in scope, so it is applicable to almost any academic subject and research topic. And since it’s a Pollak Library database, you can be certain that the sources you will encounter in this database are academic level research sources.

Finding Visual Evidence

The Opposing Viewpoints database provides an easy way to identify sources that provide visual assets such as tables and charts that you might want to use as visual evidence in your essays. After entering your search term(s), look for the Infographics or Statistics content types displayed above the search results.

Look for the infographics and statistics content types when conducing your search.

OneSearchOneSearch is the Pollak Library's discovery tool that allows you to search many, but not all, of our research databases at the same time. Think of it as a mega database. Because OneSearch indexes and searches across many of our databases, it is an excellent tool to use when starting a new research project.

OneSearch in One Minute (1:01) movie icon

Watch this Pollak Library video to learn how to use OneSearch in just sixty seconds!

Pollak Library's Academic Search Premier database to use for undergraduate research because it is multi-disciplinary in scope, so it is applicable to almost any academic subject and research topic. Since this is a Pollak Library database, you can be certain that the sources you will encounter in this database are academic level research sources.

Finding Visual Evidence

The Academic Search Premier database provides an easy way to identify sources that provide visual assets such as graphs, charts, and diagrams that you might want to use as visual evidence in your essays. After entering your search term(s), scroll to the bottom of the search page to the "Image Quick View Types" search filter option. Select the visual source types you want and then click the Search box.

The Image Quick View Types filter option.

Help with MLA Citation Style

Professor Peterson's classes use the MLA citation style.

Learning Activities

 MLA Tutorial Tutorial icon

 This tutorial offers an introduction to MLA 9th edition citation style and the resources available for consultation.

 Citations Guide: MLA Tutorial icon

 Explore the Pollak Library's Citations guide, in particular the two visual Infographic cheat sheets for MLA 9th and 9th editions.

Writing Essays