This guide is created for ENGLISH 579 to aid with students in their research and digital mapping of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. It includes Pollak Library subscription databases, digital image collections and websites hosted by other entities. It also links to a variety of sources and research guides on copyright, fair use, and related rights and use topics.
To see an example of "The Real-Life Places That Inspired Frankenstein," visit the Smithsonian Magazine (November 2015). This site may help you think of more specific places for your image search and selection.
Database available via ARTstor. Digital images of works of art with accompanying information including size and ownership. Includes over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, and the humanities. Technical requirements http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-html/requirements.shtml NOTE 1: Pop-up blocking software must be disabled. NOTE 2: Requires Flash 6 or higher. A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references. Includes Grove Art Online, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Provides artist biographies, thematic timelines, over 40,000 image links. Limited to 25 simultaneous CSU system-wide users.Searchable newspaper database with full-text images of The Times (London) newspaper from 1785 to 1985. Searches can be limited by date and newspaper sections. Results can be viewed as articles with highlighted search terms or as full-page images.Provides digital access to English and foreign language titles printed in the United Kingdom and the Americas during the 18th century.Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine social sciences and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. From researchers pursuing scientific breakthroughs to academic institutions and government agencies evaluating research, Scopus is the abstract and indexing database of choice.
Provides access to over 200 of the academic and research journals of Oxford University Press, encompassing the science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts, and social science disciplines. Largest, most authoritative English language dictionary. Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, traces the usage of sources, covers words from across the English-speaking world including etymological analysis, variant spellings, pronunciation, and provides uses of words from over 2.5 million quotations.