Link to Databases by Subject, or Names of Databases to access more databases in your discipline.
General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research. A digital interdisciplinary archive of over 1,000 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also includes other valuable materials for academic work, such as select monographs, photographs, manuscripts, speeches, maps, and pamphlets. All collections are full-text searchable, offer search-term highlighting, include high-quality images, and are interlinked by millions of citations and references. This interdisciplinary journal collection provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals. It is particularly strong in the humanities disciplines, such as literature, history, and area studies (Africa, Asia, Latin America and Europe), but also has content from the sciences and the social sciences. Provides indexing to journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats on all national literatures, literary criticism, language, linguistics, and folklore. Need to find scholarly articles, book reviews, book chapters, and conference papers on various linguistics and language related subjects? Try LLBA to access articles from over 1,500 journals, as well as summaries of books, book chapters and dissertations! A gateway to journal articles in over 500 SAGE publications, with coverage in the disciplines of business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine. This database offers full-text access to numerous SAGE journal titles and includes complete access to the SAGE Full-Text Collections for education and psychology. GreenFILE contains information on global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Some full-text articles included. A comprehensive business database via ProQuest that includes book reviews, dissertations, newspapers, magazines, reference/reports, scholarly journals, and trade publications. It features over 4,000 journals and offers access to more than 2,900 full-text titles spanning business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, and competitive and product information. This database includes access to ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. This kinesiology related database provides access to articles covering to topics of biomechanics, coaching, dance, health, physical education, physical fitness, physical therapy, recreation, sport psychology, and sport medicine. This database offers comprehensive indexing of literature pertaining to sports, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, physical fitness and related disciplines. Sport Discus includes over 565,000 records, with citations from over 1,200 periodicals (published 1975-present), books and theses (1949-present), conference reports, and videotapes. Science Direct provides access to over 2500 scientific scholarly journals in the areas of biochemistry, biological sciences, business and management science, chemistry, clinical medicine, earth sciences, economics, engineering and technology, environmental science, materials science, mathematics and computer science, microbiology and immunology, neurosciences, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, social sciences and more. Many articles are in full-text. Includes access to 'Science Magazine,' a source for full-text peer-reviewed general-science articles, scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. With full text of the journal's news stories, research reports, and commentary articles in a searchable database, enhanced by additional information, links, multimedia, and user services, as well as a database of scientific-product information. Nature Publishing Group (NPG) combines Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews Journals, NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications, to provide a major information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences. Database accessible via ACM. A collection of journals, magazines and conference proceedings relating to computing, software, hardware, computational theory, AI, information science, human-computer interaction and instruction al technology. Subjects covered include aerospace, biomedical technology, computer science, computing and control technology, consumer and industrial electronics, electrical and electronics engineering, information systems, power, robotics, telecommunications. To limit search to full text available to Pollak Library, select 'Search subscribed full-text content only' under the Publications heading on the IEEE search page. Wiley Online Library provides access to a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Among the subjects covered are: architecture, arts, business, chemistry, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities and social sciences, life sciences, mathematics and statistics, medicine and nursing, physics and astronomy, psychology, social and behavioral sciences. SpringerLink database provides full-text coverage of scientific, technical, and medical literature. Among the subjects covered are: architecture and design, behavioral science, biomedical and life sciences, business and economics, chemistry and materials science, computer science, earth and environmental science, engineering, humanities, social sciences and law, mathematics and statistics, medicine, physics and astronomy, professional and applied computing. International coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks covering the field of Education. Includes journals not covered in ERIC. Abstracts available from 1983, full-text articles available from 1996. SFX enabled; can e-mail, print, or download citations. Education Magazine Archive will comprise archival runs of 26 major 20th-21st century magazines relating to many different aspects of education. This collection provides primary source insights into the history of education during this period. The Cochrane Library brings together research on the effectiveness of healthcare treatments and interventions, providing independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Systematic Reviews are presented full text with abstract, plain language summary, meta-analysis, and exhaustive literature reviews. The collection of six databases can be searched / browsed individually or simultaneously.Be elastic & be specific. Both are necessary. Narrow down your topic when your topic is too broad or when you find too much information. Expand your topic when you do not find enough information. You can also use the following techniques to help you narrow down or expand your searches.
Search Techniques