LibGuides: Grey Literature: How and Where to find Grey Literature

Sources for Grey Literature

BMC Proceedings
BioMed Central (BMC) Proceedings is an online, open access journal devoted specifically to conference proceedings. Most of the results in this journal are either posters or abstracts from oral presentations.
F1000 Posters: The Open Poster Repository
An open access repository from Faculty of 1000 which includes over 10,000 posters from leading life science conferences.
SciFinder
Note: SciFinder requires users to create individual accounts for access.
SciFinder includes databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) and the National Library of Medicine (MEDLINE). SciFinder is a comprehensive source for chemical information, covering scientific journals, patents, conference proceedings, and technical reports. To locate conference proceedings, select "document type" form the menu to the right of your results.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Subjects covered include aerospace, biomedical technology, computer science, computing and control technology, consumer and industrial electronics, electrical and electronics engineering, information systems, power, robotics, telecommunications. To limit search to full text available to Pollak Library, select 'Search subscribed full-text content only' under the Publications heading on the IEEE search page.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Conference Proceedings
Search conference proceedings from nearly 50 disciplines and hundreds of conferences. Sort by discipline or use a keyword search.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service: Political Science, Criminal Justice, and Public Administration and includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, and publications of international agencies.

Google Government Search
Google Government searches federal, state, and local web sites with .gov domains. Also includes some .mil, .us., .com government sites.

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1,000,000 digitized doctoral dissertations in the humanities and social sciences. It also contains master's theses, including 4,000+ from Cal State Fullerton students, 1967-present. Citations for dissertations from around the world from 1637. NOTE: Includes the theses of Fullerton graduate students who have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.

Clinical trials.gov
Provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine., clinicaltrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the U.S. and around the world.
OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. Hosted repositories provide free, open access to academic outputs and resources. Each repository record within OpenDOAR has been carefully reviewed and processed by a member of their editorial team, offering a trusted service for the community.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for thousands of scholarly journals and other periodicals. Marketline publications, including Company Profiles, SWOT analysis, Case Studies, Country Profiles, and Industry Profiles are available.

NYU Open Data Catalog
This list of datasets is hosted by New York University and includes public datasets freely available to the public.
more...less...
To make sure that all results are open to the public, make sure "Free to all" is selected to the right of the listings.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Research Paper Series
SSRN hosts research paper series (RPS) for academic and other research organizations. Search for journals by discipline or subscribe.
OAIster
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. OAIster includes more than 50 million records that represent digital resources from more than 2,000 contributors.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Public Affairs Information Service: Political Science, Criminal Justice, and Public Administration and includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, and publications of international agencies.

United Nations Official Document System
The Official Document System (ODS) has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents.

The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.
WorldwideScience.org
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world (Architecture: What is under the Hood). Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.

Search the Gray Literature gateways listed on this page
Search the corporation, institution, or agency that is most likely to produce the type of information you are looking for.
When searching, consider keywords such as: report, "proceedings," "think tank," "white paper." "policy," "statistics," etc...
Consult with a librarian who specializes in your subject.