COLLECTIONS CARE RESOURCES
-
American Institute for Conservation: Resources for Collection Care
Explore trusted resources to help you care for art, artifacts, archives, and the things that matter to you and your community. Assessing your buildings, caring for items, displaying and storing them properly, conservation consultations, and preparedness efforts are all part of collections and preventive care. -
Black Metropolis Research Consortium: Guide to Managing Your Collections
The Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) is a Chicago-based membership association of libraries, universities, museums, community/arts organizations, and other archival institutions. -
Collections Care Videos
The Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation (FAIC), with support from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), hosts the Connecting to Collections Care (C2CC) online community, with free resources intended to be especially helpful to small and mid-sized institutions. -
Library of Congress: Collections Care
The Library of Congress' Preservation section collections care resource page.
-
U.S. Department of the Interior: Museum Resources
The Interior Museum Program provides training and assistance for the Department of the Interior's museum programs, but the knowledge and resources used for caring for museum collections can benefit all. This section provides helpful resources for stewards of types of collections - museum, archives, and even your home treasures.
Collection Management Policy Guidelines
-
AAM: Collections Management PolicyCollections advance the museum’s mission while serving the public. Because collections are held in trust for the public and are made accessible for the public’s benefit, the public expects museums to maintain the highest legal, ethical and professional standards.
-
CoOL: Conservation OnlineConservation OnLine (CoOL) is a freely accessible platform to generate and disseminate vital resources for those working to preserve cultural heritage worldwide
-
Society of American Archivists: Museum Archives GuidelinesThe Museum Archives Section of the Society of American Archivists (SAA) represents
those who are responsible for the organization and care of archival collections located
in museums. These guidelines have been created by the Section to assist all types of
museums in the development and administration of archival programs.
CC Toolkit
-
Wirtz Collection Care ToolkitA collections care guide written for volunteer-based museums.
Gaylord Archival Collections Care Toolkit
footer
Paulina June and George Pollak LibraryPollak Library South, Room 352
Email: uasc@fullerton.libanswers.com
Phone: (657) 278-3445