ENGLISH 301: News/Magazines

General database via EBSCO that covers a wide range of research resources, including core subjects such as applied science, art, education, humanities, law, social science, business, and technology. A good place to start research.

Provides access to many major U.S. and international newspapers, including local titles (LA Times, Orange County Register) and national titles.

Global Newsstream contains the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.

This database is similar to AP Images available on the EBSCO platform. This mobile friendly version is available via the Associated Press platform. It contains millions of photos, graphics, text, and audio clips from the worldwide Associated Press (AP) newswire service. In addition to current news images (updated hourly, real-time), it includes historical photos back to the 1800s, and audio clips back to the early 1900s. All material is copyright owned by AP, but available from this database for educational use. Useful for finding images on any topic (people, nature, politics, business, sports, entertainment, etc.) to use in presentations.

This collection includes over 500 California newspapers. The Orange County Register is included in this collection. The collection supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty such as Business and Economics, Environmental Sciences, Social Sciences, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, STEM and more...

A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals from underrepresented and independent presses. This database includes publications that highlight diverse cultural perspectives, social issues, and community voices. Content is available in both English and Spanish and features a timeline of key historical events.

Indexes over 400 of the most popular magazines and journals published in the United States and Canada, with about full text for half of them. Particularly useful for locating magazines dealing with popular culture, such as fashion, current events, home and garden, entertainment, consumer information, and sports.

Indexes older issues of over 375 magazines and journals, such as Business Week (1929-1982), Good Housekeeping (1916-1982), and National Geographic (1888-1982). Limited to 2 simultaneous users.

Provides full-text (HTML text, not PDF) of the 'New York Times' newspaper. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and other means. Provides a Topic Guide of subjects, and has a Search Alert service.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Provides full-text (HTML text, not PDF) of the 'Los Angeles Times' newspaper. Searchable by keyword, subject, author, and other means. Provides a Topic Guide of subjects, and has a Search Alert service. No images (charts, graphs, photos) are included.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Searchable newspaper database with full-text images of The Times (London) newspaper from 1785 to 1985. Searches can be limited by date and newspaper sections. Results can be viewed as articles with highlighted search terms or as full-page images.