ENGLISH 301: Background

Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of over 3,500 reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas.

Collection of 260+ Reference books; including dictionaries, encyclopedias, and books of quotations, includes resources in a wide range of fields.

Largest, most authoritative English language dictionary. Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, traces the usage of sources, covers words from across the English-speaking world including etymological analysis, variant spellings, pronunciation, and provides uses of words from over 2.5 million quotations.

Need to find comprehensive descriptions of careers including salaries, employment and advancement prospects, education and training, experience and skills needed? Try this database! Also provides tips on interviewing and information on creating effective resumes and cover letters, internships, grants and scholarships, as well resources by industry. CSUF Career Center provides access to this database.

Full-text detailed reports on controversial social, economic, political, educational, health, environmental, technology, and current topics. Each report includes an abstract, overview, background summary, current situation, outlook, special focus, chronology, pro/con, and bibliography.

Covers a wide range of controversial topics and results may include sources such as magazine, newspaper or journal articles, government documents, political position papers, public policy statements, legal and legislative materials, pamphlets, statistical data, biographies, court cases, and links websites.

Science Direct provides access to over 2500 scientific scholarly journals in the areas of biochemistry, biological sciences, business and management science, chemistry, clinical medicine, earth sciences, economics, engineering and technology, environmental science, materials science, mathematics and computer science, microbiology and immunology, neurosciences, pharmacology and toxicology, physics, social sciences and more. Many articles are in full-text.

Includes access to 'Science Magazine,' a source for full-text peer-reviewed general-science articles, scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research. With full text of the journal's news stories, research reports, and commentary articles in a searchable database, enhanced by additional information, links, multimedia, and user services, as well as a database of scientific-product information.

Nature Publishing Group (NPG) combines Nature, Nature Research Journals, Nature Reviews Journals, NPG Academic Journals and NPG Reference publications, to provide a major information resource for the basic biological and physical sciences.