The Online Archive of California provides free public access to descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions throughout California.
University of California's free public gateway to primary sources. Contains digitized items including photographs, newspaper pages, political cartoons, art, diaries, oral histories, and more.
Jewish global human rights organization researching the Holocaust and hate in a historic and contemporary context. The Museum of Tolerance is located in LA.
Researchers from around the world turn to the Feuchtwanger Library for their research on the German-speaking exiles in Southern California and other related subjects.
Collection of art and artifacts from the Cold War era. Collection materials on the German Democratic Republic; Wende Moments; Personal Histories and Everyday Life; and Public and Private Interaction.
The library's non-circulating collection includes photographs, documents, oral histories, and books to support research on the Holocaust in its historical context.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form" and offers provide free access to materials.
The California State Library is the state's information hub, preserving California's cultural heritage and connecting people and the government to library resources.
Selected web sites concerned with Native America. Approximately 5,000 links in 31 categories. Strong on Native American art and on contemporary political and commercial issues.
Contains illustrations, cartoons, editorials, news stories, and more. Includes material on slavery, emancipation, black military service, political participation, women, and anti-black violence.
U.S. Census records include wide-ranging population demographics. Data on individual people is not available to the public until 72 years after a given census was taken.
The David M. Rubenstein National Institute for Holocaust Documentation contains documents on the fate of victims, survivors, rescuers, liberators, and more.
British national museum organization with branches across England. Provides resources on the study and understanding of the history of modern war, from WWI to today.
Nonpartisan research and policy center that examines the ways that bigotry and terrorism, both domestically and internationally, deny civil or human rights.
Online primary sources covering the Slavery & Abolition Era, Civil War & Reconstruction Era, Jim Crow Era, the New Deal & WWII, Civil Rights & Black Power Movements, and more.
Compilation of 100 milestone U.S. documents by the National Archives and Records Administration. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
Presents 396 pamphlets published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
The Regional Oral History Office documents the history of California, the nation, and the interconnected global arena. Contains carefully researched, audio/video-recorded oral histories and historical materials.
